Kaliningrad

© shutterstock.com

Kalinigrad is a city in northwest Russia and the center of Kaliningrad Oblast (Region). This region is unique in the country, not having any common borders with other Russian regions, while neighboring Poland and Lithuania and bordered by the Baltic Sea.

City with a Rich Past

For a long time, Kaliningrad was part of Germany. The city's history began in 1255, when the Teutonic Knights founded a fortress on a hill, named Königsberg (King's Hill). The city first became part of Russia in 1758 as a result of its victory in the Seven Years' War. However, in 1762 the land was returned to the Kingdom of Prussia. In 1946, Koenigsberg again became a Russian city when WWII resulted in some German lands being transferred to the Soviet Union. Upon this transfer, the city received a new name – Kaliningrad, after the Soviet politician Mikhail Kalinin.

Seacoast City

Although Kaliningrad has no direct access to the sea, since it is located near the place where the Pregolya River enters Kaliningrad Bay, the city still has a large port and hosts the headquarters of the Baltic Fleet of the Russian Navy. In the small towns near Kaliningrad, there are beaches, reachable by bus, shuttle bus, or commuter train. But you can smell the sea in Kaliningrad itself, since it has winds and rains.

City of Philosophers

Königsberg was the birthplace and residence of one of the world's greatest philosophers, Immanuel Kant. His tomb is located near the walls of the 14th Century Cathedral, with the Kant Museum and Concert Hall hosting organ performances. Interestingly, the philosopher lived in Königsberg during its transfer to the Russian Empire, which means that Kant took the oath of citizenship and allegiance to Elizabeth of Russia. When the province was returned to Prussia, Kant refused to violate his oath, and remained a citizen of Russia until his death.

City of Culture

Kaliningrad often hosts various musical shows and performances, including international ones, such as the Mikael Tariverdiev Organ Competition, the Kaliningrad City Jazz Festival, the Kaliningrad in Rock Festival, and many more. Every autumn, the city hosts the Baltic Seasons Art Festival, at which theaters from many Russian regions present their best performances.

City of Amber

The city symbol is the Amber Museum, located in a red-brick tower which once formed part of the fortress. The Museum showcases sunstone of various shades, shapes, and sizes, with the largest exhibit weighing more than 4 kg. It also has the world's largest amber mosaic, the Rus mosaic, weighing more than 70 kg and consisting of around 3,000 elements.

City of Academic Traditions

Kaliningrad is home to more than 20 colleges and universities. The largest is Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, with some of its buildings once belonging to Albertina University of Koenigsberg, founded in 1544. City universities also provide naval graduates, fishing specialists, lawyers and others.

What to See

Fishing Village

Unfortunately, the historic center of Kaliningrad was devastated during WWII. However, many buildings have now been restored. For example, the Fishing Village was restored in 2007, as a German style craft trades area.

Historic Zoo

The Kaliningrad Zoo is one of the largest and oldest in Russia, and a member of the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria. The zoo was founded by the businessman German Klaas in 1896.

Museum of the World Ocean

This is a unique exhibition center, with some of its displays located on the water: both scientific and military vessels are moored along the Historic Fleet Embankment, with exhibition halls inside them. The second part of the Museum is located on land: aquariums with exotic fish, collections of shells and corals, and the skeleton of an enormous sperm whale.

King's Gate

This Gate is situated near the World Ocean Museum and their image became the city mascot during the celebrations of the 750th anniversary of Koenigsberg. Now, the King's Gate hosts the Great Embassy exhibition, which displays the history of the city's foundation and development. Visitors to the King's Gate are first met by the keeper of the keys to the city: the Prussian Cat, which is believed to bring good luck if you pet it.

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Калининград

© shutterstock.com

Калининград – город на северо-западе России, административный центр Калининградской области. Она уникальна тем, что не имеет границ с другими регионами России, соседствует лишь с Польшей и Литвой, омывается Балтийским морем.

Город с богатым прошлым

Долгое время Калининград принадлежал Германии. История города началась в 1255 году, когда рыцари Тевтонского ордена заложили крепость на возвышенности и назвали ее Кёнигсберг (Королевская гора). Впервые город перешел к России в 1758 году, после победы в Семилетней войне. Однако в 1762 году земли вернули Прусскому королевству. Кёнигсберг снова стал российским в 1946 году, когда после окончания Великой Отечественной войны часть немецкой территории была передана СССР. Тогда же появилось новое название – Калининград, в честь советского партийного деятеля Михаила Ивановича Калинина.

Приморский город

У Калининграда нет прямого выхода к морю, город расположен при впадении реки Преголи в Калининградский залив, но здесь находится большой порт и штаб Балтийского флота ВМФ России. Пляжи есть в городках под Калининградом, до них можно доехать на автобусе, маршрутке или электричке. Но и в самом городе пахнет морем, иногда здесь бывает ветрено и дождливо.

Город философов

В Кёнигсберге родился и жил один из величайших мировых мыслителей – Иммануил Кант. Его могила находится у стен Кафедрального собора XIV века, здесь же открыт музей Канта и концертный зал, где проходят органные концерты. Интересно, что философ жил как раз в тот период, когда город впервые перешел к Российской империи, поэтому он принес присягу императрице Елизавете. Когда провинция снова вернулась в состав Пруссии, Кант не пожелал нарушать свою клятву, поэтому до самой смерти оставался гражданином России.

Культурный город

В Калининграде регулярно проходят разнообразные музыкальные мероприятия, в том числе международные: органный конкурс им. М. Таривердиева, джазовый фестиваль «Калининград Сити Джаз», рок-фестиваль «Калининград In Rock» и многие другие. Каждую осень проходит фестиваль искусств «Балтийские сезоны» – театральные труппы со всей России представляют свои лучшие спектакли.

Город янтаря

Один из символов города – знаменитый музей янтаря в башне из красного кирпича, когда-то она входила в систему оборонительных сооружений города. В коллекции музея представлены «солнечные» камни разных оттенков, форм и размеров – самый «серьезный» экспонат весит более 4 килограммов. Здесь же находится самая большая в мире янтарная мозаика «Русь» – она весит более 70 килограммов и состоит почти из 3 000 фрагментов.

Город с академическими традициями

В Калининграде открыты более 20 высших учебных заведений. Самый крупный – БФУ им. И. Канта, часть его корпусов когда-то принадлежала кенигсбергскому университету «Альбертина», он начал свою работу в 1544 году. Вузы города также готовят военных моряков, специалистов рыбного хозяйства, юристов и других.

Что посмотреть

Рыбная деревня

К сожалению, во время Второй мировой войны исторический центр Калининграда был сильно разрушен. Но в наши дни многие постройки восстанавливают. Так, например, в 2007 году была реконструирована Рыбная деревня – торгово-ремесленный квартал в немецком стиле.

Исторический зоопарк

Зоопарк Калининграда – один из самых крупных и старинных в России, входит в Европейскую ассоциацию зоопарков и аквариумов. Был открыт в 1896 году немецким предпринимателем Германом Классом.

Музей Мирового океана

Уникальный выставочный комплекс, часть «экспонатов» находится на воде: вдоль Набережной исторического флота пришвартованы настоящие суда (научно-исследовательские и военные), внутри – музейные экспозиции. Вторая часть комплекса – на суше, здесь можно увидеть аквариумы с экзотическими рыбами, коллекции ракушек, кораллов и скелет огромного кашалота.

Королевские ворота

Находятся неподалеку от Музея Мирового океана, их изображение было выбрано символом города во время празднования 750-летия Кёнигсберга. Сегодня здесь находится экспозиция «Великое посольство», рассказывающая о зарождении и развитии города. Посетителей ворот встречает хранитель городских ключей – Прусский кот, его принято гладить наудачу.

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X