Kazan

© shutterstock.com

Kazan is one of Russia's oldest cities, located on the Volga River, 820 km away from Moscow. It is the capital of Tatarstan which is home to 115 nationalities. Over 50 % of population are tatars, with Russians constituting the second largest population group. Russian and Tatar are the two official languages of the region, with completely equal status. Tatarstan is a secular republic that has over 1,000 registered religious organizations. Islam and Orthodox Christianity are the most widespread. Here you'll find mosques, Orthodox, Catholic churches and cathedrals, a synagogue, and other religious buildings and centres.

City of Tourists

In 2014, TripAdvisor named Kazan one of the most rapidly developing tourist destinations. The capital of Tatarstan, visited by over 1,000,000 tourists every year, was rated third in Europe and eighth in the world. The number of engaging excursions and tours around the sights of Kazan and neighbouring areas is simply astounding.

City of Sports

Kazan is one of the most well-equipped cities of Russia in terms of sports infrastructure. In 2009, an online survey deemed Kazan Russia's sports capital. Kazan has hosted multiple sports events at national and international level, including two field hockey world championships (2005 and 2011), the summer World Student Games (2013), fencing world championships (2014), and others. In 2018, the capital of Tatarstan will host football World Cup matches.

Dynamic City

There is a great number of sports grounds and active leisure facilities in Kazan. There are sports facilities to play hockey or go skating, skating rinks, and aqua parks with swimming pools and rides. Those who are into active leisure would enjoy a rope park and a karting centre.

What to See

Kazan Planetarium is the only one of its kind in Russia to be located within the territory of a university (Kazan Federal University): it offers amazing guided tours, popular science videos with special effects, astronomic observations, and romantic evenings. Visiting a tropical butterfly park is a good way to become immersed into a carefree, warm summer atmosphere. Here you can also visit a terrarium and a petting zoo (where you can feed animals).

Near the City

The island town of Sviyazhsk is a fortress town on an island 30 km away from Kazan, built in 1551 by Ivan the Terrible's troops in only 4 weeks. The historical and architectural complex of Sviyazhsk includes four monasteries, three churches, two cathedrals, a bell tower, and a monument to victims of political repressions. In addition to frequent guided tours, the island often hosts music festivals, stage performances, and an annual archery and crossbow tournament.
Blue Lakes is a very famous recreation spot for both locals and visitors. Water basins that are 2-18 metres deep are fed with underground waters and do not freeze in winter. The waters are completely transparent and rich in salts. The bottom is covered with saline silt mud. Swimming in Blue Lakes is not only a pleasure, but it is also very good for you.


5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Казань

© shutterstock.com

Казань – один из старейших городов России расположен на берегу Волги, в 820-ти километрах от Москвы. Столица Татарстана, где проживают представители 115 национальностей. Более 50% населения татары, на втором месте по численности – русские. Русский и татарский являются государственными и равноправными языками. Татарстан – светская республика, в которой зарегистрировано свыше 1 000 религиозных объединений. Наиболее распространены ислам и православие. В Казани есть мечети, православные, католические храмы и церкви, синагога и другие религиозные сооружения и центры.

Город туристов

В 2014 году международный сайт TripAdvisor включил Казань в рейтинг самых быстро развивающихся туристических направлений. Столица Татарстана, куда ежегодно приезжают более 1 000 000 туристов, заняла 3-е место в Европе и 8-ое в мире. Число увлекательных экскурсий и туров по достопримечательностям Казани и окрестностям поражает воображение.

Спортивный город

Казань – один из самых обустроенных в плане спортивной инфраструктуры городов России. В 2009 году в ходе интернет-опроса россияне признали ее спортивной столицей страны. Казань не раз принимала спортивные события национального и мирового уровней, в том числе два Чемпионата мира по хоккею с мячом (2005, 2011), летнюю Универсиаду (2013), Чемпионат мира по фехтованию (2014) и другие. В 2018 году столица Татарстана примет игры Чемпионата мира по футболу.

Активный город

В городе большое количество площадок для занятий спортом и активного отдыха. В частности, есть спорткомплексы, где можно поиграть в хоккей или покататься на коньках, катки, аквапарки с бассейнами и аттракционами. Для любителей активного отдыха работает веревочный парк и картинг-центр.

Что посмотреть

Казанский планетарий, единственный в России, расположенный на территории университета (КФУ), предлагает посетителям интересные экскурсии, просмотр научно-популярных фильмов в режиме спецэффектов, астрономические наблюдения, романтические вечера. В атмосферу беззаботного теплого лета погружает посещение Парка тропических бабочек. Там же работает зал террариумных животных и контактный зоопарк (где можно кормить животных).

Недалеко от города

Остров-град Свияжск это город-крепость на острове в 30 км от Казани, построенный в 1551 году войсками Ивана Грозного всего за 4 недели. Историко-архитектурный комплекс Свияжска включает четыре монастыря, три церкви, два собора, колокольню, а также памятник жертвам политических репрессий. Кроме постоянных экскурсий на острове проходят музыкальные фестивали, театральные постановки, ежегодный турнир по стрельбе из лука и арбалета.
Голубые озера – популярное место отдыха жителей и гостей города. Водоемы глубиной от 2 до 18 метров питаются подземными водами, не замерзают зимой. Вода в них отличается абсолютной прозрачностью, высоким содержанием солей. На дне – иловые солевые грязи. Купаться в Голубых озерах не только приятно, но полезно для здоровья.


5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X