Moscow

© shutterstock.com

Moscow is the capital of Russia, its political, economic, and cultural centre. This is the most populated city in Russia and Europe. For many people from Russia and other countries the capital of Russia is a city of magnificent opportunities.

European Capital

Moscow is very much like any other European capital as far as its infrastructure and lifestyle are concerned, while its people do not differ much from those living in other metropolises, such as London and New York. That is why foreigners find it so easy to adapt to life in Moscow.

City of Events

There's always something going on in Moscow: exhibitions, festivals, performances, excursions, concerts, quests, marathons... You can have a great time in Moscow and you don't have to spend a fortune either: get a bird's-eye view of the city, take a boat ride down Moscow river, descend 65 metres below ground to the Cold War bunker, take drawing or guitar classes, take a tour around Moscow's bars or take part in wine tasting, enjoy roller skating in a park, or visit a maze of mirrors...

This Is One of the Best Cities in the World for Students

Moscow was included in Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) ranking of top world cities for students in 2014 and 2015. Among other things, the experts evaluated how popular the metropolis is among students, how prestigious its universities are, and whether there are opportunities for study.

City of Sports

Moscow can boast of over 9.5 thousand sporting facilities, including over 4,000 gyms. The Russian capital is a frequent host of sporting events: marathons and competitions on a national and international scale. The Sporting City is a major holiday in Moscow, bringing together over 70,000 students from the capital's institutions of higher education. A huge sporting facility is being built in the centre of Moscow to host over 50 so-called sporting sections. Anyone can try their hand at all kinds of sports – from urban mountain biking to sumo wrestling.

City of Parks

Many international tourists are surprised at the number of parks, gardens, and garden squares they find in Moscow. There are over 120 of them here. We are mostly talking about spacious green areas with everything you could possibly need for comfortable recreation, including benches, Wi-Fi, cafes, pathways, sports facilities and much more besides. The parks always host all manner of interesting activities, including festivals, concerts, and special events.

The Most Beautiful Undeground on Earth

The Moscow Metro is not only a convenient way to move around the city, but one of its main sights, a cultural gem, where even guided tours are held. Its stations are decorated with marble, mosaics, and sculptures. Mayakovskaya, Kiyevskaya, Komsomolskaya, and Novoslobodskaya are among the most beautiful of the many stations. Ploschad Revolutsii [Revolution Square] with a sculpture of a frontier guard and a dog is particularly popular among students. Many believe rubbing the dog's nose before an exam brings good luck.

The Largest Library in Europe

The Russian State Library, which contains over 45.5 mln publications and documents in 367 languages, is located in the heart of Moscow, on Vozdvizhenka Street. Here, you will find computers with internet access, electronic document search, and a cafe. Anyone can join the library; you only have to present a passport with a valid visa, translated into Russian.

Multinational City

Social scientists state, that only 2% of Moscow's population of more than 12 mln people, are indigenous residents. Over the last 20 years, three million people migrated to Moscow from other regions of Russia, and the number of foreigners (excluding the CIS countries) who live here on a permanent basis is estimated to top 300,000 people. People from different countries and religions find life very comfortable in Moscow, with its Orthodox churches, synagogues, mosques, Catholic churches, Buddhist centres, and more. No wonder the British newspaper The Independent called this cosmopolitan city the most foreigner-friendly.

Restaurants and Cafes

Moscow offers a great variety of restaurants and cafes. A French croisserie neighbours a Tyrolean cafe and restaurant serving 30 sorts of beer, while a Chinese snack bar competes with a Vietnamese noodle bar. Naturally, you will find many places here offering Russian cuisine. Students can enjoy affordable cafes, groceries, and food delivery services.

City that Never Sleeps

Moscow is famous for its fabulous night life. The number of night clubs, discos, and entertainment centres here is almost infinite. You can also take a night city tour (on foot or by bus) and participate in a stage show in one of its museums. The city hosts the Night of Museums event on an annual basis, when the leading art facilities, concerts, performances, stage shows, and master classes are available to visitors for free.

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Москва

© shutterstock.com

Москва – столица России, политический, экономический и культурный центр. Самый населенный город России и Европы. Для многих россиян и иностранцев российская столица – это город больших возможностей. 

Европейская столица

По инфраструктуре и жизненному укладу Москва во многом похожа на европейскую столицу, а ее жители – на типичных обитателей мегаполисов от Лондона до Нью-Йорка. Это делает ее понятной и легкой для адаптации иностранцев.

Город событий

Москва – это город, в котором постоянно что-то происходит – выставки, фестивали, перформансы, экскурсии, концерты, квесты, марафоны… В российской столице можно интересно провести время, не потратив при этом огромную сумму денег: увидеть город с высоты птичьего полета, прокатиться на теплоходе по Москве-реке, спуститься на глубину 65 метров в бункер времен холодной войны, сходить на уроки рисования или игры на гитары, пройтись по московским барам или поучаствовать в винной дегустации, погонять на роликах в парке или побывать в зеркальном лабиринте… 

Один из лучших городов мира для студентов

Москва дважды – в 2014 и 2015 году – входила в рейтинг лучших городов для студентов по версии компании Quacquarelli Symonds (QS). Эксперты, в частности, оценивали популярность мегаполиса среди студентов, престиж его университетов, доступность обучения. 

Спортивный город

В Москве находится свыше 9,5 тысяч спортивных сооружений, в том числе более 4 тысяч спортзалов. В российской столице постоянно проходят спортивные мероприятия – марафоны, соревнования общенационального и международного масштаба. Один из главных праздников «Спортивный город», который собирает более 70 тысяч студентов столичных вузов. Во время него в центре Москвы сооружается грандиозная площадка, на которой размещаются более 50 спортивных секций. Любой желающий может попробовать свои силы в самых разных видах спорта ‑ от городского маунтинбайка до сумо. 

Город парков

Большое количество парков, скверов, садов в Москве порой удивляет иностранцев. Их в российской столице более 120-ти, чаще всего это просторные площадки с зелеными насаждениями, оборудованные всем необходимым для комфортного отдыха – скамейками, Wi-Fi, кафе, дорожками и площадками для занятия спортом и многим другим. В парках постоянно проходят интересные мероприятия: фестивали, концерты, праздники. 

Самое красивое в мире метро

Московская подземка – не только способ передвижения горожан и гостей города, но и одна из его достопримечательностей, культурный объект, где даже устраивают туристические экскурсии. Станции отделаны мрамором, украшены мозаикой и скульптурами, самые красивые станции – «Маяковская», «Киевская», «Комсомольская», «Новослободская». Особой популярностью среди студентов пользуется станция «Площадь Революции» со скульптурой пограничника и собаки. Согласно поверью, если перед экзаменом потереть псу нос, то отличная оценка обеспечена. 

Самая большая в Европе библиотека

Российская государственная библиотека, где собрано более 45,5 миллиона изданий и документов на 367 языках мира, находится в самом центре Москвы, на улице Воздвиженка. Работает интернет-зал, электронный поиск документов и буфет. Записаться в библиотеку может любой желающий, достаточно предъявить паспорт с визой (с переводом на русский язык). 

Многонациональный город

По данным социологов, лишь 2% из более чем 12-миллионного населения Москвы, являются коренными жителями. Только за последние 20 лет в столицу из других регионов России переехали 3 миллиона человек, а число постоянно проживающих иностранцев (не считая выходцев из СНГ) оценивается в 300 тысяч человек. В Москве комфортно себя чувствуют представители самых разных стран, приверженцы различных религий – в городе есть православные храмы, синагоги, мечети, католические церкви, буддистские центры и др. Неслучайно британская газета The Independent назвала российский город-космополит самым дружелюбным для иностранцев. 

Рестораны и кафе

В Москве вы найдете самые разные рестораны и кафе. Здесь французская булочная соседствует с тирольским кафе и ресторанчиком с 30-ю сортами бельгийского пива, китайская закусочная борется за посетителей с вьетнамской лапшичной. И, конечно, в городе огромное количество заведений русской кухни. Для студентов найдутся вполне доступные кафе, магазины, сервисы по заказу еды с доставкой. 

Город, который никогда не спит

Москва известна своей насыщенной ночной жизнью. В столице несметное количество клубов, дискотек и развлекательных центров. Кроме того, ночью можно отправиться на экскурсию по городу (пешую или автобусную) или принять участие в театрализованных представлениях столичных музеев. Ежегодно в городе проходит акция «Ночь музеев», во время которой бесплатно свои двери для посетителей открывают ведущие арт-площадки, проходят концерты, перформансы, театрализованные представления и мастер-классы.

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X