Novosibirsk

© shutterstock.com

Novosibirsk is Russia's scientific centre. The city hosts over 100 R&D organizations, a science campus, the General Committee of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Over 1,500 doctors of science and 3,400 candidates of science live and work here.

The Most Rapidly Growing City of the World

Novosibirsk is the third largest city in Russia by population, the most rapidly growing million-plus city in the world, and is inhabited by representatives of over twenty nationalities. Orthodox churches and cathedrals neighbour mosques, a Catholic cathedral, a synagogue, a Buddhist cathedral, and other religious establishments and centres.

City of Sports

Both professional and amateur sports are well developed in Novosibirsk. The city has eight stadiums, sporting facilities, alpine skiing and biathlon complexes, alpine ski camps, a snowboard park, swimming pools, a motordrome and a go-kart track. Novosibirsk is a frequent venue for national and international contests, including annual biathlon and Greco-Roman wrestling tournaments. Many sports entertainment events are held here, including the municipal wellness festival.

City of Culture

Cultural events of national and international levels are held in Novosibirsk every year: fantasy festivals (White Spot), documentaries (Meetings in Siberia), youth subcultures (Znaki), celtic music and dances (Anima Celtica), snow figures, ethnic cultures, street theatres (Three Crows), a light show (Siberian Light), jazz (Sib Jazz Fest), craft beer festivals (CraftFest), and others. Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theatre is one of Russia's leading musical theatres, a multifaceted architectural complex with the status of a Russian object of cultural heritage. Its troupe regularly takes part in national and international festivals and has won a number of professional rewards. A variety of festivals and concerts (including experimental music events) is held at the Globus Youth Theatre.

City of Cinema Lovers

Novosibirsk is a real gem for cinema lovers. Besides the regular cinemas, there are a number of alternative venues here, including the auto theatre and two cinema clubs where you can discuss movies with like-minded fans. A local anti-cafe holds night movie shows. Cinemas are also shown atop a number of multi-storey buildings.

Dynamic City

Novosibirsk is a wonderful place for those who enjoy the active lifestyle. There are several bike rental spots here, and you can also take a guided bike tour around the suburbs. You can rent a bike, roller skates, ice skates, and skis in Zaeltsovsky Park and the Botanical Garden. Novosibirsk offers at least seven spots with running tracks in picturesque parks and gardens for those fond of a morning jog. Workout (street fitness) fans gather at sports grounds with chin-up bars and gymnastic equipment.

What to See

One of the Longest Straight Streets in the World

The length of Krasny Prospect (the central street of Novosibirsk) stretches to almost 7 km.

The Longest Underground Bridge in the World

An underground bridge across the River Ob connects two stations of the Novosibirsk underground: Studencheskaya and Rechnoy Vokzal. The total length of the structure is 2,145 metres.

Near the City

The suburbs of Novosibirsk are very beautiful. Among sites worth visiting are the Barsukovskaya Peschera (Badger's Cave, with some arches 200 metres long), the Belovsky Waterfall, Lake Glubokoye, and Umrevinsky Pit (a fortress from the early 18th century). Berdsky Rocks are one of the most beautiful tourist destinations of Siberia. Bugotaksky peaks are also quite an attraction for those who enjoy hiking.

Fans of active recreation will always find something to do here. You can rent a 4-wheeler or Segway, visit a rope park or a climbing wall, practice parachuting or take a flight in an air tunnel.

There are several recreation camps near Novosibirsk for fishing fans.

Several equestrian clubs operate in the city and its suburbs and offer horse riding lessons, guided tours, and photo sessions with these beautiful animals.


5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Новосибирск

© shutterstock.com

Новосибирск – научный центр России. В городе находится свыше 100 научно-исследовательских организаций, Академгородок, Президиум Сибирского отделения Российской академии наук (РАН), там живут и работают более 1 500 докторов наук и 3 400 кандидатов наук.

Самый быстрорастущий город мира

Новосибирск – третий в России по численности населения, самый быстрорастущий в мире город-миллионник, в котором проживают представители свыше двух десятков национальностей. Наряду с православными храмами и церквями в городе есть мечети, католический собор, синагога, буддистский храм, другие религиозные сооружения и центры.

Спортивный город

В Новосибирске развит профессиональный и любительский спорт. В городе восемь стадионов, спортивные, горнолыжные и биатлонный комплексы, лыжные базы, сноуборд-парк, бассейны, мотодром, картодром. Постоянно проходят всероссийские и международные соревнования, в том числе ежегодные турниры по биатлону и греко-римской борьбе. Кроме того, город является площадкой для спортивных праздников, например, городского веллнесс-фестиваля.

Культурный город

Ежегодно в Новосибирске организуют культурные мероприятия национального и международного уровней: фестивали фантастики («Белое пятно»), документального кино («Встречи в Сибири»), молодежных субкультур (Zнаки), кельтской музыки и танцев (Anima Celtica), снежных фигур, этнических культур, уличных театров («Три вороны»), светового шоу («Сибирское сияние»), джаза (Sib Jazz Fest), крафтового пива (КрафтФест) и другие. Новосибирский театр оперы и балета – один из ведущих музыкальных театров страны, а его здание – сложный архитектурный комплекс, имеющий статус объекта культурного наследия России. Труппа – постоянный участник международных и российских фестивалей, обладатель профессиональных наград. На площадке молодежного театра «Глобус» проходят различные фестивали, концерты, в том числе экспериментальной музыки.

Город киноманов

Новосибирск – находка для любителей кино. В городе наряду с обычными кинотеатрами есть несколько неформатных, в том числе автокинотеатр и два киноклуба, участники которых обсуждают увиденные фильмы. Ночные просмотры организуют в местном антикафе и на крышах городских высоток.

Активный город

Для приверженцев активного образа жизни в Новосибирске созданы все условия. Работают несколько пунктов проката велосипедов, организуются велотуры по окрестностям города. В Заельцовском парке и Ботаническом саду можно взять напрокат велосипед, ролики, коньки и лыжи. Для любителей утренних пробежек город может предложить по меньшей мере семь мест с дорожками в живописных парках и скверах. На площадках с турниками и гимнастическими элементами собираются любители воркаута (уличного фитнеса).

Что посмотреть

Одна из самых длинных прямых улиц мира

Длина Красного проспекта – центральной магистрали Новосибирска – достигает почти 7 километров.

Самый длинный в мире метромост

Метромост через реку Обь соединяет две станции новосибирского метрополитена – «Студенческую» и «Речной вокзал». Общая длина конструкции составляет 2 145 метров.

Недалеко от города

В окрестностях Новосибирска немало красивых мест. Среди них – Барсуковская пещера, некоторые проходы которой достигают 200 метров, Беловский водопад и озеро Глубокое, Умревинский острог (крепость начала XVIII века). Бердские скалы – один из самых красивых туристических маршрутов Сибири, Буготакские сопки, привлекающие любителей пеших прогулок.

Не заскучают любители активного отдыха. Можно взять напрокат квадроцикл или сегвей, сходить в веревочные парки или посетить скалодром, освоить прыжки с парашютом или полетать в аэродинамической трубе. Близ Новосибирска есть несколько баз отдыха для любителей рыбалки.

В городе и его окрестностях работает несколько конноспортивных клубов, предлагающих самые разные услуги – от уроков верховой езды и туристических туров до фотосессий в компании грациозных животных.


5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X