Perm

© shutterstock.com

Perm is located in the east of the European part of Russia, on the Kama River that flows from the Urals. It is the capital of Perm Krai, and the industrial, scientific, and cultural centre of the Urals. This is the third largest Russian city (by area). Perm is more than 1,400 km away from Moscow. Perm is well-known for its ancient history, limestone caves, and wild rivers.

Cultural Capital

Here you will find 13 museums, including the Perm State Art Gallery, with its world-famous collection of Perm wood sculpture, four state theatres, and more than 10 cinemas. The Perm Museum of Contemporary Art (PERMM) is well-known far beyond the city limits. The gallery displays works of Russian and foreign artists of all styles, including painting, graphic art, video, and performance art.

City of Ballet Tradition

Perm Ballet School was established during the Second World War, when a troupe from the renowned Leningrad Opera and Ballet Theatre and staff of the country's oldest choreographic school in Leningrad were evacuated here. World-famous performers and tutors worked at the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre for over 3 years. In summer 1944, a ballet studio was opened in the capital of the Kama region, which later became the Perm Choreographic School. Its graduates go on to work on the stages of the leading theatres of Russia and around the world.

Multiconfessional City

Followers of different confessions live in Perm. There are over 30 Orthodox churches and chapels, a Catholic church, a mosque, two synagogues, and communities and centres of other religious confessions.

Dynamic City

Perm can boast many municipal and entertainment parks, attractions, and leisure centres. The Garden of Eden park is one of the most picturesque leisure spots with many bridges, arches, benches, and carved fences. The centre of the park is decorated with a magnificent rotunda with 8 columns, which is a frequent venue for concerts. Those who enjoy an adrenaline rush will be thrilled by the virtual pre-historic 3D aquarium – a labyrinth of 8 video screens that broadcast movies about sea life from about 200 mln years ago. The effect of actually being there is created with special equipment; the show is not recommended for people of a sensitive disposition.

What to See

Perm Planetarium is a state-of-the-art centre equipped with hi-end digital equipment and a solar telescope to view processes on the surface of the Sun. Visitors are offered up to 160 interactive programmes, including subject-based lectures and thrilling movies with combined shooting and computer graphics.

In the local butterfly park you'll see live tropical butterflies from Central and South America, and South-East Asia. Other tropical fauna species, including snakes, fish, iguanas, spiders, Australian hylas (tree frogs), and pond sliders can also be seen here.

Near the City

Kungur Ice Cave

This is a unique geological monument, located 100 km away from Perm. It is one of the biggest karst caves in the European part of Russia at 5.7 km long. Its stalactites and stalagmites, underground lakes, exotic stone heaps and mysterious rock shelters attract hundreds of tourists. There are guided tours in the cave, often combined with video or laser shows.

Mountaineering: Rafting, Trekking, Bike and Husky Tours

Perm Krai is one of the most attractive places in Russia for those who enjoy hiking, rafting, bike tours, walking tours, trekking, and other forms of active recreation. Local travel agencies offer a wide range of routes and directions.

Recreation Facilities near Perm

If you are not into extreme forms of travel, you can enjoy local nature at one of the many recreation facilities near Perm. These are usually cottage-style houses (wooden or brick), with all amenities included. As a rule, recreation facilities include cafes, football and volleyball pitches, paintball grounds, a sauna, and even a ski slope, depending on your chosen destination. This is a wonderful way to have a great time in the company of friends.

Ural Athos

The White Mountain, 120 km away from Perm, is so gorgeous and magnificent, that it is often compared with the Greek Mount Athos, while the monks of the monastery atop the White Mountain, with the Athos monks. That is why this Orthodox shrine is often called the "Ural Athos". You can take a bus there either independently or as part of a guided tour.


5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Пермь

© shutterstock.com

Пермь – город на востоке европейской части России, на берегу уральской реки Кама. Столица Пермского края. Промышленный, научный, культурный центр Урала. Третий по площади город России. Расстояние до Москвы – более 1 400 км. Пермь славится своей древней историей, известняковыми пещерами и бурными реками.

Культурная столица

В городе находятся 13 музеев, включая Пермскую государственную художественную галерею – хранилище всемирно известной коллекции пермской деревянной скульптуры, четыре государственных театра, не менее десяти кинотеатров. Пермский музей современной искусства PERMM известен далеко за пределами города. В галерее можно увидеть произведения российских и зарубежных художников, работающих в самых разных направлениях – от живописи и графики до видеоарта и перформанса.

Город балетных традиций

Пермская балетная школа зародилась во время Великой Отечественной войны, когда в город эвакуировали труппу прославленного Ленинградского театра оперы и балета, а также коллектив старейшего в стране Ленинградского хореографического училища. Прославленные артисты и педагоги работали в Пермском театре оперы и балета более трех лет. Летом 1944 года в столице Прикамья открыли балетную студию. Сейчас это Пермское хореографическое училище, чьи выпускники работают на сценах ведущих театров России и мира.

Многоконфессиональный город

В Перми проживают представители многих конфессий. В городе насчитывается свыше трех десятков православных храмов и часовен, есть католический храм, соборная мечеть, две синагоги, имеются общины и центры других религиозных течений.

Активный город

В Перми немало городских и развлекательных парков, аттракционов, центров досуга. Парк «Райский сад» – одно из самых живописных мест отдыха с мостами, арками, скамейками, резными ограждениями. Центр парка украшает великолепная ротонда с восемью колоннами, где часто проходят концерты. Любителям острых ощущений придется по вкусу виртуальный доисторический 3D «океанариум» – лабиринт из восьми видеоэкранов, на которых демонстрируются фильмы об обитателях морей, живших около 200 миллионов лет назад. Эффект присутствия обеспечивается специальной аппаратурой, особо впечатлительных людей просят воздержаться от посещения.

Что посмотреть

Пермский планетарий – это современный центр, оснащенный новейшей цифровой техникой и солнечным телескопом, с помощью которого можно наблюдать процессы, происходящие на поверхности Солнца. Кроме того, посетителям предлагают до 160 интерактивных программ – от тематических лекций до увлекательных фильмов с комбинированными съёмкам и компьютерной графикой.

В парке живых бабочек можно увидеть тропических бабочек Центральной и Южной Америки, Юго-Восточной Азии. Там также обитают другие представители тропической фауны, в том числе змеи, рыбы, игуаны, пауки, австралийские квакши, красноухие черепахи.

Недалеко от города

Кунгурская ледяная пещера

Уникальный геологический памятник в 100 км от Перми. Одна из самых больших карстовых пещер европейской части России, протяженность – 5,7 км. Ее сталактиты и сталагмиты, подземные озера, причудливые нагромождения камней и таинственные гроты привлекают сотни туристов. По пещере устраивают экскурсии, в том числе совмещенные с видеофильмами или лазерным шоу.

Горный туризм: рафтинг, трекинг, вело и хаски-туры

Пермский край – одно из самых популярных мест в России для любителей турпоходов, сплавов, велотуров, пеших прогулок, трекинга и других видов активного отдыха. Местные туркомпании предлагают широкий выбор маршрутов и направлений.

Базы отдыха близ Перми

Если экстремальные путешествия не для вас, побыть на природе можно, отправившись в одну из многочисленных баз отдыха недалеко от Перми. Как правило, это коттеджные домики (деревянные или кирпичные) со всеми удобствами. Там обычно можно найти кафе, площадки для игры в футбол, волейбол, пейнтбол, баню, горнолыжный спуск – в зависимости от выбранного вами места. Прекрасный вариант отдыха дружной молодежной компании.

Уральский Афон

Красоту и величие Белой горы в 120 км от Перми часто сравнивали с греческим Афоном, а обитателей стоящего на ней монастыря – с афонскими монахами. Именно поэтому эту православную святыню называют Уральским Афоном. Добраться до Белой горы можно самостоятельно на автобусе или вместе с экскурсионной группой.


5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X