Saint Petersburg

Saint Petersburg is a city on the shore of the Gulf of Finland. Established in 1703 by Peter the Great, Saint Petersburg was the capital of Russia for two centuries, and has witnessed some of the most important historical events. The city is often called "Venice of the North" because of its unique architecture. Petersburg is also very famous for its special creative atmosphere that attracts artists, poets, and dreamers.

Two Steps from Europe

Saint Petersburg is 400 km away from Helsinki. There are several buses, express trains, and ferries going from St. Petersburg to the Finnish capital and back every day. The trip takes 3.5 to 6 hours depending on the type of transport. An opportunity to take frequent trips to Europe is one of the advantages of living in the city on the Neva, but you need to make sure you have a Schengen visa in advance (you can do this at embassies of European countries in your country).

Cultural Mecca

Saint Petersburg is rightly called the world's cultural capital. The historical centre of the city is protected by UNESCO. The city boasts world-famous museums, theatres, galleries, architectural monuments, cultural and educational institutions: the Hermitage, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Russian National Library, and the Russian Museum are just four of them. Many people visit St. Petersburg to familiarise themselves with Russia's great culture: visit the best shows, concerts, exhibitions, and festivals.

City of Multiple Religions

The Northern capital hosts 270 religious communities, 229 religious establishments, including Orthodox, Catholic, Protestant cathedrals and churches, synagogues and mosques, and even a Buddhist cathedral.

City of Football

Saint Petersburg is the home of the famous Russian football team Zenit – a multiple winner of national championships, and a winner of the UEFA Cup and Super Cup.

Locals are proud of the fact that Saint Petersburg is one of the 11 cities to host matches at the 2018 World Cup.

City of Bridges

There are over 300 bridges in St. Petersburg: 21 drawbridges, 24 pedestrian, and 297 transport bridges. Each bridge has its own unique name: Tovarischesky (Friends' Bridge), Teatralny (Theater Bridge), Bumazhny (Paper Bridge), or Potseluev Most (Bridge of Kisses), which is very popular among lovers. There are record breakers here as well: Blue Bridge is the widest bridge of its kind in the world (97.3 m), while Alexander Nevsky Bridge is the longest of its kind in the world (905.7 m).

City with the Deepest Underground in the World

The St. Petersburg Metro consists of 5 lines and 67 stations, most of which are 20–80 metres deep. The longest escalator is 150 metres long, and the "deepest" station is Admiralteyskaya (86 metres under the ground).

City of White Nights

White Nights is a particular symbol of St. Petersburg. This is an unusual natural phenomenon when it does not get dark at night from the end of May to mid-July. Many events take place in St. Petersburg at this time. One of the most prominent of them is the all-Russian Graduate Ball "Crimson Sails". The annual celebration starts with a grand stage show concert in the city centre and finishes with a magnificent multimedia light show in the waters of the Neva. The show culminates with a ship with crimson sailing along the embankments.

City of Russian Rock

Saint Petersburg is the home city of renowned Russian rock groups: Aquarium, Alisa, Kino, Auktion, Picnic, and many others. A legendary Leningrad rock club was established in the city on the Neva in the Soviet times to hold rock concerts and festivals that were prohibited by the authorities. Modern-day Petersburg is a popular concert venue visited by the world's top stars, including Lady Gaga, Tokyo Hotel, Sting, Deep Purple, and many others.

Near the City

There are many beautiful places in the suburbs. Consider visiting gardens and palaces of Gatchina, Oranienbaum, Peterhof, Strelna, Pavlovsk, and Tsarskoye Selo.


5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Санкт-Петербург

Санкт-Петербург – город на побережье Финского залива. Основанный Петром I в 1703 году, он на протяжении двух веков был столицей России, свидетелем важнейших исторических событий. Город часто называют «Северной Венецией» за его уникальную архитектуру. Петербург также известен своей особой творческой атмосферой, притягивающей к нему романтиков, художников и поэтов.

В двух шагах от Европы

Санкт-Петербург находится в 400 км от Хельсинки. Из центра города в финскую столицу и обратно несколько раз в день ходят автобусы, экспресс-поезда, паромы. Время в пути от 3,5 до 6 часов в зависимости от вида транспорта. Возможность частых поездок в города Европы – одно из преимуществ жизни в городе на Неве, главное заранее позаботиться о шенгенской визе (в посольствах европейских стран в вашей стране).

Культурная мекка

Санкт-Петербург по праву считается мировой культурной столицей. В городе, исторический центр которого охраняется ЮНЕСКО, находятся известные на весь мир музеи, театры, галереи, памятники архитектуры, культурные и образовательные учреждения: Эрмитаж, Исаакиевский собор, Российская национальная библиотека, Русский музей – лишь некоторые из них. В Санкт-Петербург приезжают, чтобы соприкоснуться с великой русской культурой: побывать на лучших спектаклях, концертах, выставках и фестивалях.

Город разных религий

В Северной столице насчитывается 270 религиозных общин, 229 религиозных сооружений, в том числе православных, католических, протестантских соборов и церквей, синагог и мечетей, есть буддистский храм.

Город футбола

Санкт-Петербург – родина известной российской футбольной команды «Зенит», многократного победителя российских чемпионатов, обладателя Кубка и Суперкубка УЕФА.
Гордость петербуржцев Санкт-Петербург – один из 11-ти городов, где пройдут матчи Чемпионата мира по футболу в 2018-м году.

Город мостов

В Петербурге более 300 мостов: 21 разводной, 24 пешеходных и 297 транспортных. У каждого свое название: Товарищеский, Театральный, Бумажный или Поцелуев мост – популярный среди влюбленных. Есть и рекордсмены, например, Синий – самый широкий в мире (97,3 м), а мост Александра Невского длиной 905,7 м удерживает звание самого протяженного.

Город с самым глубоким в мире метро

Петербургская подземка – это 5 веток и 67 станций, большинство из которых заложены на глубине 20-80 метров. Самый длинный эскалатор достигает 150 метров, самая глубокая станция – «Адмиралтейская» – уходит на 86 метров под землю.

Город белых ночей

Белые ночи – своеобразный символ Санкт-Петербурга. Необычное природное явление, когда ночью не темнеет, наблюдается в период с конца мая до середины июля. В это время в городе проходят различные мероприятия. Одно из самых ярких – всероссийский бал выпускников «Алые паруса». Ежегодный праздник начинается с большого театрализованного концерта в центре города, а завершается грандиозным световым мультимедийным шоу в акватории Невы, кульминацией которого является проход вдоль набережных корабля с алыми парусами.

Город российского рока

Санкт-Петербург – город, в котором появились культовые российские рок-группы: «Аквариум», «Алиса», «Кино», «АукцЫон», «Пикник» и многие другие. В советские годы именно в городе на Неве был создан легендарный ленинградский рок-клуб, который устраивал запрещенные властью рок-концерты и фестивали. Современный Петербург – популярная концертная площадка, на которой выступают звезды мировой величины – Леди Гага, Tokio Hotel, Стинг, Deep Purple и многие другие.

Недалеко от города

В пригороде Петербурга найдете много красивых мест. В первую очередь стоит увидеть знаменитые дворцово-парковые ансамбли Гатчины, Ораниенбаума, Петергофа, Стрельны, Павловска и Царского села.


5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X