Samara

© shutterstock.com

Samara is located in the European part of Russia, on the left bank of the Volga River. This is the centre of the Russian aerospace and aviation industry and one of the oldest cities in Russia.

A Real Attraction for River Tourists

Motor ship tours down the Volga and cruises to cities on the river (Nizhny Novgorod, Kazan, Volgograd, Tolyatti), all start from Samara river station.

City of Football

Football has a special place in the life of the city. The famous national football club Krylya Sovetov is based in Samara and football games of different levels are held here, while the local Metallurg stadium is one of the most frequently visited in the Russian Premier League. Visiting the municipal museum is a good way to get to know the history of football in Samara. Samara is one of 11 Russian cities to host matches during the 2018 World Cup.

City of Music Festivals

A warm climate and beautiful nature make Samara an ideal venue for holding large-scale open air music events. Samara has been hosting the legendary Grushinsky festival of guitar poetry since 1968 (it now gathers over 200,000 people), and the Kacheli rock festival since 2007.

Dynamic City

The Samara embankment that stretches over 4 km is the main recreation venue for locals and tourists. It is divided into four sectors for different groups of people: families with kids, groups of revellers, sportsmen, and those who enjoy serenity. There's a sandy beach here, too. The Samarskaya Luka bicycle marathon is held in Samara every year.

Multiconfessional City

In Samara, you'll find Orthodox, Catholic, Protestant churches, an Armenian apostolic church, mosques, synagogues, and other religious institutions and centres.

What to See

The Samara in Space Museum

This museum is devoted to the history of the aerospace industry in Russia. The exhibit includes real parts for spaceships, including Yantar-4K1 and Resurs F-1 landing sections, and model rocket engines. A full scale monument to the legendary Soyuz carrier rocket is installed near the museum.

Stalin's Bunker

This is a defensive fortification built in 1942 for Joseph Stalin, the Commander-in-Chief of the Soviet Armed Forces, to be evacuated in case of need. This underground facility, located 37 metres below the ground, was declassified in the nineties. Stalin's bunker is now a very popular museum among Russian and international students.

Photo Exhibitions and Master Classes

Between the 1940s and 1960s Samara was the centre of Russian photographic art. Not only does the modern museum of photography reflect the history of Samara photography, but it also creates new history; this is a venue of frequent exhibitions, master classes, and events with well-known artists.

Galileo Park of Wonders

The Galileo Park of Wonders is an interactive exhibition facility covering an area of over 1,000 square m with various mechanisms and constructions that demonstrate different scientific phenomena. Visitors are completely free to touch any exhibits, press any buttons, and conduct whatever experiments they wish. The park also contains a Maze of Illusions and a laboratory for running 11 scientific workshops.

Near the City

Samara is a starting point for many coach and ship tours to nearby cities, including Tolyatti and Ulyanovsk. Molodetsky Kurgan, an arboretum, ornithological reserve, and Castle Garibaldi are other places of interest in Tolyatti. The main attraction of Ulyanovsk (named after Vladimir Lenin (Ulyanov)) is a memorial centre including buildings where the Bolshevik leader and his family lived. Ulyanovsk is also home to Russia's principal museum of civil aviation and covers an area of 18 ha. It contains a unique exhibit of Russian airplanes and helicopters.

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Самара

© shutterstock.com

Самара – город в европейской части России, расположенный на левом берегу Волги. Центр космической и авиационной промышленности страны. Один из старинных городов России.

Город речного туризма

С пристани Самарского речного вокзала отдыхающие отправляются в теплоходные прогулки по Волге, круизы в расположенные вдоль реки города – Нижний Новгород, Казань, Волгоград, Тольятти.

Город футбола

Футбол занимает особое место в жизни Самары. В городе базируется известный в России футбольный клуб «Крылья Советов», проходят матчи различных уровней, а местный стадион «Металлург» – один из самых посещаемых в российской Премьер-лиге. С историей самарского футбола знакомит городской музей. Самара один из 11 российских городов, в которых пройдут матчи ЧМ-2018.

Город музыкальных фестивалей

Теплый климат, красивая природа сделали Самару идеальным местом для проведения масштабных музыкальных мероприятий под открытым небом. С 1968 года в городе проходит легендарный Грушинский фестиваль авторской песни, собирающий свыше 200 тысяч человек, с 2007-го – рок-фестиваль «Ка4ели».

Активный город

Растянувшаяся более чем на 4 км Самарская набережная – одно из главных мест отдыха жителей и гостей города. Она поделена на четыре сектора для разных групп отдыхающих – семей с детьми, шумных компаний, спортсменов и любителей уединенного. На набережной имеется песчаный пляж. Для велосипедистов ежегодно проводится масштабный веломарафон «Самарская Лука».

Многоконфессиональный город

В Самаре есть православные, католические, протестантские церкви, армянская апостольская церковь, мечети, синагога, другие религиозные сооружения и центры.

Что посмотреть

Музей «Самара Космическая»

В музее можно проследить историю развития космической промышленности России. Экспозиция включает настоящие изделия для ракет, в том числе спускаемые аппараты «Янтарь-4К1», «Ресурс Ф-1», макеты ракетных двигателей. У здания музея расположен монумент легендарной ракете-носителю «Союз», представляющий собой ее копию в натуральную величину.

«Бункер Сталина»

Оборонительное сооружение, построенное в 1942 году на случай эвакуации Верховного Главнокомандующего Вооруженными силами СССР Иосифа Сталина. Подземный объект, расположенный на глубине 37 метров, рассекречен в 90-е годы. Сейчас бункер Сталина – это музей, привлекающий российских и зарубежных туристов.

Фотовыставки и мастер-классы

В 40-60-е годы XX века Самара была центром российского фотоискусства. Созданный уже в наши дни музей фотографии не только отражает историю самарской фотографии, но и творит новую – там постоянно проходят выставки, мастер-классы, творческие вечера.

Парк чудес

«Парк Чудес Галилео» – интерактивный выставочный комплекс площадью свыше 1 000 кв. метров, в котором собраны механизмы и конструкции, демонстрирующие различные научные явления. Посетителям предоставлена полная свобода – они могут трогать экспонаты, нажимать на все кнопки, проводить эксперименты. В парке также расположены «Лабиринт Иллюзий» и лаборатория, где проходят 11 научных практикумов.

Недалеко от города

Из Самары организуют автобусные и паромные туры в близлежащие города, в том числе в Тольятти и Ульяновск. Молодецкий Курган, дендропарк, Орнитологический заказник, замок Гарибальди – в числе мест, которые привлекают туристов в Тольятти. Главная достопримечательность Ульяновска, названного так в честь Владимира Ленина (Ульянова), – мемориальный центр, включающий дома, в которых жил большевистский вождь и его семья. Также в Ульяновске располагается головной музей гражданской авиации России, его основное достоинство – уникальная экспозиция российских самолетов и вертолетов, занимающая площадь около 18 га.

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X