Tomsk

© shutterstock.com

Tomsk, a city in the eastern part of Western Siberia and located on Tom River, is the capital of the Tomsk Region.

City of Students

In 1896, the first polytechnic university in Siberia was established in Tomsk, and by the 1940s the city gained a reputation of a Russian centre of science and education. Nowadays, over one fifth of its population (over 117,000 people) are students.

This Is Siberia's Oldest Centre of Science and Innovation

Tomsk is the oldest scientific, educational, and innovation centre with about 15 R&D organizations, 8 institutions of higher education, and a special economic zone. The hi-tech business and IT industry are well developed in the city.

Multiconfessional City

The most heavily represented religious confession of Tomsk is Orthodox Christianity and there are many Orthodox cathedrals and churches here. There are also two mosques, a synagogue, a Lutheran church, and centres of other religious confessions.

City of Sports

Rowing, basketball, volleyball, mountain climbing, sports tourism, equestrian sport, ski sports, snowboarding, scuba-diving, and chess are dynamically developing in the city. The city is home to several stadiums and swimming pools, and there is an 11-metre climbing wall at Tomsk Polytechnic University, plus several sporting facilities, the Palace of Shows and Sports, bowling facilities, karting tracks, ski jumps, and ski tracks.

There's a local football team "Tom" and a women's volleyball team "Tomichka-Jupiter", whose home games are hosted at local stadiums.

Dynamic City

Tomsk is ideal for those who love sports and an active lifestyle. For instance, the best scuba-diving club in Russia is located here. It was established by graduates of Tomsk State University, and has already won a number of awards at prestigious national and international competitions. This is the alma mater of dozens of masters of sport in scuba diving.

The Sosnovy Bor recreation camp within the city offers wonderful skiing and skating opportunities. Skis, snow racers, sledges, and ice skates are all available for rent. Summer is a great time for cyclists who can enjoy riding on asphalt tracks in the shadow of the trees.

A travel festival is held in Tomsk every year. Hiking, water and alpine skiing, diving, mountain and rock climbing, scientific and geographical expeditions, hang-gliding, snowboarding, hitch-hiking, yachting, and many more pursuits are all discussed at the festival. The festival includes multiple contests of photos, films, travel stories, guitar and poetry concerts, pot-holing best practices, and paragliding.

Near the City

Entertainment Forest park is located 15 km away from Tomsk and includes an extreme assault course, a climbing wall, and many play areas. The Zarnitsa club holds strikeball games (imitating real battle action) on different sites within and outside the city. The participants are provided a military uniform and copies of weapons from different countries of the world.

There's a unique natural monument 40 km away from Tomsk – the Talovskye Chashy. These are limestone structures formed as cups (Chashy), filled with water and covered with a rare mineral birnessite. Water in these cups doesn't freeze even in winter. It is considered to have very strong healing properties.

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Томск

© shutterstock.com

Томск – город на востоке Западной Сибири на берегу реки Томь. Столица Томской области.

Город студентов

В 1896 году в Томске был основан первый в Сибири политехнический вуз, к 40-м годам XX века город уже имел репутацию российского центра науки и образования. Сегодня студенты составляют пятую часть населения Томска – более 117 тысяч человек.

Старейший в Сибири центр науки и инноваций

Томск – старейший в Сибири научный, образовательный и инновационный центр, где находятся не менее 15 научно-исследовательских организаций, 8 вузов, особая экономическая зона. В городе развиты наукоёмкий бизнес, IT-индустрия.

Многоконфессиональный город

Самой многочисленной религиозной конфессией Томска является православие, представленное соборами, храмами и церквями. В городе также есть две мечети, синагога, лютеранская кирха, центры других религий.

Спортивный город

В Томске активно развиваются академическая гребля, баскетбол, волейбол, альпинизм и спортивный туризм, конный спорт, лыжные виды спорта, сноуборд, подводное плавание, шахматы. В городе несколько стадионов, бассейны, 11-метровый скалодром при Томском политехе, спортивные площадки, дворец зрелищ и спорта, залы для боулинга, картодромы, лыжные трамплин и трасса.

Есть футбольная команда «Томь» и женская волейбольная команда «Томичка-Юпитер», домашние матчи которых проходят на стадионах города.

Активный город

В Томске созданы все условия для занятия спортом и активного образа жизни. Так, в городе находится лучший в России клуб аквалангистов. Основанный выпускниками Томского госуниверситета, он выиграл множество наград на престижных соревнованиях России и мира, подготовил десятки мастеров спорта по подводному плаванию.

На базе «Сосновый бор», расположенной в черте города, можно покататься на лыжах и коньках. Лыжи, снегокаты, санки, коньки выдают напрокат. Летом на асфальтированных дорожках в тени лесов катаются велосипедисты. Ежегодно в Томске проходит фестиваль путешественников. Тематика – пеший, водный, лыжный туризм, дайвинг, альпинизм, скалолазание, научно-географические экспедиции, дельтапланеризм, сноубординг, путешествия автостопом, яхтинг и многое другое. В программе – конкурсы фотографий, фильмов, рассказов о путешествиях, концерты авторской песни, соревнования по технике спелеотуризма, парапланеризму.

Недалеко от города

Парк «Лес развлечений» в 15 километрах от Томска включает экстремальную полосу препятствий, скалодром, игровые площадки. Клуб «Зарница» организует игры по страйкболу (имитирующую боевые действия) на различных площадках города и окрестностей. Участникам выдают военную форму и копии оружия различных стран мира.

В 40 километрах от Томска есть уникальный природный памятник – Таловские чаши. Представляет собой наполненные водой известковые образования в форме чаш, покрытые редким минералом – бернесситом. Вода в них не замерзает даже зимой. Считается, что она обладает лечебными свойствами.

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X