Transport in Russia

Picture №1 – Transport in Russia © shutterstock.com

Russia is a vast country with enormous distances, but even if it is your first visit to Russia, it is not difficult to get to a destination on your own. The main thing is to plan your route, like during a journey to any unfamiliar places.

Usually staff will send detailed instructions on how to get to the university. It is easy to find your way around in Russian cities with mobile maps that work without Internet access (OsmAnd, Mobile Yandex maps, 2 GIS and others). Don't forget to download them before your journey.

From the Airport to the City

You can get from the airport to the city using various forms of transport. Most often these are regular buses, fixed-route or private taxis, and suburban trains. Express trains operate in some major cities from airport terminals.

  • The advantages of buses and fixed-route taxis are that they are inexpensive and frequent (every 10-15 min). They can be found at bus stops at the airport. Buy tickets in special kiosks or on the bus.

  • You can get from Moscow airports to the city for 30-40 roubles and by fixed-route taxi for 70-120 roubles. Prices are even lower in other Russian cities. For example, the Plus Metro rate (1 journey by train + 1 journey by metro), Airport-to-Airport (2 journeys by aeroexpress + 1 journey by public road transport) and other Aeroexpress tariffs are available from Moscow airports.

  • High-speed trains take passengers to the city centre. They are fast, comfortable, frequent (every 30 min.), they have more luggage space, and different tariffs are available online.

    For example, the Plus Metro rate (1 journey by train + 1 journey by metro), Airport-to-Airport (2 journeys by aeroexpress + 1 journey by public road transport) and other Aeroexpress tariffs are available from Moscow airports.

    It's relatively easy to find ticket offices for express trains by following special signs at the airport. You can also buy tickets at the airport, but it is cheaper to purchase online.

    Picture №2 – Transport in Russia© Aeroexpress

    1 journey on the Moscow express costs about 500 roubles. Tickets are cheaper in other cities. For instance, a high-speed train from Koltsovo Airport will take you to Yekaterinburg for 20-50 roubles.

    High-speed trains also operate from the airports of Vladivostok and Sochi.

  • A journey from the airport to the city by standard train will take longer and be less comfortable than by high-speed transport but it will be several times cheaper. Tickets are sold at ticket offices.

  • The most expensive option is to get a taxi from the airport to the city: in Moscow and St. Petersburg the journey will cost at least 1,000 to 1,500 roubles, but in Yekaterinburg, only 650 roubles. At railway stations and airports it is better to order a taxi at the information desk or online in advance. To avoid trouble, avoid using unlicensed taxis.

  • Many Russian universities offer students a transfer service for an additional fee. Learn about the cost and how to book from your university representatives.

City Transport

Picture №3 – Transport in Russia © shutterstock.com

In Russian cities and towns you can get around by metro, bus, tram, trolleybus, and private fixed-route taxi.

There are underground systems in Moscow, St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Kazan, Yekaterinburg, and Volgograd.

The larger the city, the higher the fare. In Moscow one journey will cost you 50 roubles*, in St. Petersburg 31 roubles*, in Yekaterinburg just 22 roubles.* A journey by public road transport (bus, trolleybus, tram) will cost you 40 roubles* in Moscow, 28 roubles* in St. Petersburg, 18 roubles* in Kazan, and 15 roubles* in Tomsk.

Students on full-time courses at Russian universities can purchase tickets on public transport at discounted prices. Passengers pay cash in fixed-route taxis and no discounts are offered.

Discounts for students: monthly travel with a student social card costs 7 times less than a regular ticket. As soon as you get a student card, arrange a student travel or social card (depending on the city). Learn more in the "Benefits for Students in Russia" section.

Before you receive your travel card, you can still save on regular travel cards using various tariffs. It is not worth buying tickets for 1 or 2 journeys. A travel card for several journeys (5 or more) will work out cheaper: the more journeys you purchase, the cheaper they become. In Moscow, you can also buy a travel card at the "90-minute" rate, which allows you to make as many journeys as you like within an hour and a half, using both the underground and/or public road transport. Similar tariffs apply in other Russian cities as well.

Tickets on public road transport can be bought from the driver, but they will be much more expensive than from ticket offices or special kiosks.

Traveling around Russia

Intercity travel is possible by coach, train, boat and plane. Discounts are also available for local trains (within one federal district): a 50% discount is available between September 1 and June 15. To apply this discount when purchasing a ticket or travel card, present your student card (student social card, depending on the region).

Share

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Транспорт России

Изображение №1 – Транспорт России. Как перемещаться по стране© shutterstock.com

Россия – это огромная территория и большие расстояния, но даже если вы впервые в стране, добраться до места назначения самостоятельно совсем несложно. Главное заранее спланировать маршрут, как во время поездки в любое незнакомое место.

Обычно сотрудники университета высылают студентам развернутую инструкцию, как доехать до вуза. Легко ориентироваться в российских городах вам помогут мобильные приложения карт, работающие без доступа в интернет (OsmAnd, Мобильные Яндекс Карты, 2 ГИС и другие). Не забудьте скачать их перед поездкой.

Из аэропорта в город

От аэропорта до города можно добраться на нескольких видах транспорта. Чаще всего это рейсовые автобусы, маршрутные и частные такси, а также пригородные поезда. В некоторых крупных городах от аэровокзалов курсируют еще и экспрессы.

  • Преимущества автобусов и маршрутных такси – невысокая стоимость проезда и частый интервал движения (10-15 минут). Найти их можно на остановках общественного транспорта недалеко от аэропорта. Билеты продаются в специальных киосках или при посадке у водителя.

  • От московских аэропортов до города на автобусе можно доехать за 30-40 рублей, на маршрутном такси – за 70-120 рублей. В других российских городах цены ниже.

  • Скоростные электропоезда обычно доставляют пассажиров в центр города. Среди преимуществ – скорость, комфорт, дополнительные места для багажа, частый интервал движения (каждые 30 минут), разные тарифы и покупка билетов онлайн.

    Например, на экспрессы от аэропортов Москвы действуют тарифы «Плюс метро» (1 поездка на поезде + 1 на метро), «Межаэропортовый» (2 поездки на аэроэкспрессе и 1 поездка на наземном общественном транспорте) и другие.

    Найти кассы экспресс-поездов достаточно легко по специальным указателям в аэропорту. Там же можно купить билеты, но выгоднее приобретать их онлайн.

    Изображение №2 – Транспорт России. Как перемещаться по стране© Аэроэкспресс

    Стоимость 1 поездки на московском экспрессе – около 500 рублей. В других городах поездка обойдется дешевле. Например, скоростной поезд от аэропорта «Кольцово» довезет вас до Екатеринбурга за 20-50 рублей.

    Скоростные поезда также курсируют от аэропортов Владивостока и Сочи.

  • Поездка от аэропорта до города на обычном поезде более длительная и менее комфортная, чем на скоростном, но ее стоимость в несколько раз дешевле. Билеты покупают в кассах.

  • Дороже всего от аэропорта до города добираться на такси: в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге поездка обойдется не менее чем в 1-1,5 тысячи рублей, а в Екатеринбурге – в 650 рублей. Машину лучше заказывать на информационных стойках вокзалов и аэропортов или заранее по интернету. Обходите стороной частных таксистов, навязывающих свои услуги (среди них могут быть мошенники).

  • Услугу платного трансфера своим студентам предлагают многие российские вузы. Стоимость и порядок заказа уточняйте у представителей вашего университета.

Городской транспорт

Изображение №3 – Транспорт России. Как перемещаться по стране© shutterstock.com

В российских городах можно передвигаться на метро, автобусах, трамваях, троллейбусах и частных маршрутных такси.

Метрополитены есть в Москве, Санкт-Петербурге, Новосибирске, Нижнем Новгороде, Самаре, Казани, Екатеринбурге и Волгограде.

Чем больше город, тем дороже проезд. Стоимость одной поездки в метро в Москве составляет 50 рублей*, в Санкт-Петербурге – 31 рубль*, в Екатеринбурге – 22 рубля*. Поездка в наземном транспорте (автобусе, троллейбусе, трамвае) в Москве стоит 40 рублей*, в Санкт-Петербурге – 28 рублей*, в Казани – 18 рублей*, в Томске – 15 рублей*.

В общественном транспорте студенты дневных отделений российских вузов могут покупать проездные по льготным ценам. В маршрутных такси расплачиваются наличными, скидки и льготы в них не действуют.

Льготы для студентов: месячный проезд по социальной карте студента в 7 раз дешевле обычного проездного. Как только получите студенческий билет, сразу же займитесь оформлением студенческого проездного или социальной карты студента (в зависимости от города). Подробнее в разделе «Льготы для студентов».

До того как вы получите льготный проездной, можно сэкономить при покупке обычных проездных по различным тарифам. Приобретать билеты на одну-две поездки невыгодно. Дешевле обойдется проездной на несколько поездок (начиная от 5): чем больше поездок, тем меньше вы платите за каждую. В Москве также можно купить проездной по тарифу «90 минут», который помимо поездок в подземке включает неограниченное число бесплатных пересадок на наземном транспорте в течение 1,5 часа. Похожие тарифы действуют и в других российских городах.

Билеты на наземный транспорт можно приобрести и у водителей, но они обойдутся вам значительно дороже, чем в кассах или специальных киосках.

Поездки по России

По городам России можно путешествовать на автобусах, поездах, водном и авиатранспорте. На поездки на пригородных поездах (по маршруту внутри одного субъекта федерации) также распространяются льготы: в период с 1 сентября по 15 июня действует 50-процентная скидка. Для ее получения при покупке разового билета или проездного нужно предъявить в кассе студенческий билет (или социальную карту студента в зависимости от региона).

Поделиться в соцсетях

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X