Levels of Higher Education

Picture №1 – Levels of Higher Education © shutterstock.com

Level 1

Bachelor's Degree

This is a complete higher education course. Individuals who have completed education equivalent to Russian general secondary or vocational secondary education can enrol in a Bachelor's Degree course. The course lasts 4 years and gives general fundamental training.

At the end of their Degree, students defend their thesis. If successful, the student is awarded a Bachelor's Degree certificate (BA, BSc). The certificate grants the student the right to work according to profession or to further their studies on a Master's Degree course.

Level 2

Specialist Degree

Picture №2 – Levels of Higher Education© RUDN University

Unlike Bachelor's Degrees, Specialist Degrees are more focused on practical work in industry according to the selected discipline. These programmes are offered to individuals who have education equivalent to Russian general secondary or vocational secondary education. The course lasts for a minimum of 5 years. Based on the examination results and thesis defence, a Specialist Degree certificate specifying the qualification (e.g., "Astronomer," "Teacher," "Information Security Specialist," etc.) may be issued. Graduates of a Specialist Degree may work in industry or further their studies on a Master's or other postgraduate course.

Master's Degree

This allows in-depth specialisation in the student’s chosen field. Bachelor’s and Specialist Degree holders can enrol in Master's Degree courses. The course lasts at least two years and involves training students for research work. Students defend a thesis which, if successful, leads to a Master's Degree certificate and the qualification of Master.

Graduates of Master’s Degrees may work in industry or further their studies on a postgraduate course.

Level 3

Highest Professional Training

Picture №3 – Levels of Higher Education© UNN
A POSTGRADUATE COURSE is a form of training for academics. Graduates of a Master's or Specialist Degree can enrol in a postgraduate course. The course includes study, teaching, hands-on experience, and research. Postgraduate students select a research field and subject of research for their dissertation. Full-time study lasts at least 3 years, while part-time study lasts at least 4 years. A graduate is awarded a postgraduate certificate with the corresponding qualification (“Research Fellow,” “Research Teaching Fellow”). Depending on the result of the dissertation defence, a Candidate of Sciences Degree is awarded, which is the first Degree to confirm the status of scientist. Candidates of Sciences proceed to their Doctoral Degree (the second Degree to confirm the status of scientist), which is awarded following successful defence of their doctoral dissertation.

A POSTGRADUATE MILITARY COURSE is the equivalent of a university postgraduate course; however, it is only related to the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs and Ministry of Defence.

AN INTERNSHIP is a form of postgraduate course for graduates of medical universities that leads to a professional qualification. The course lasts one year and is a practical placement at a medical institution under the mentoring of senior colleagues.

Picture №4 – Levels of Higher Education© KFU

A MEDICAL RESIDENCY is the final stage in training in a number of medical (or pharmaceutical) fields. Individuals who hold a higher medical (or pharmaceutical) qualification can enrol in a medical residency. The course lasts 2 years and is a combination of in-depth study of the rudiments of medical sciences with hands-on experience in medical institutions where students develop the necessary professional skills and abilities. The course concludes with a three-stage qualification examination. Graduates are awarded a medical residency certificate and the qualification of specialist, enabling them to work in medical institutions.

AN ASSISTANTSHIP is a form of training of highly qualified personnel working in the arts. Graduates of Specialist or Master's Degrees in this field can train on assistantships. The course lasts up to two years and follows a tailor-made syllabus under the supervision of a mentor and head of department at the university. The graduate qualification work may be a performance, concert, show, exhibition, or film depending on the specialisation. An assistantship concludes with the award of a certificate, with the respective qualification ("Concert Performer and University Professor"), granting the right to perform or teach.

Second Higher Education

Russian legislation grants Russians just one free higher education (of levels 1, 2, or 3), while subsequent study must always be paid for. Foreign citizens who have graduated from a university outside the Russian Federation may enrol in a second higher education course both on a commercial and state-funded basis (subject to successful completion of the selection process). This can be done as part of a Bachelor's (up to 4 years), Specialist (up to 6 years), or Master's (at least 2 years) Degree.

The selection process is based on entry examinations. Upon graduation, a certificate is awarded to confirm the qualification.

Education Level 1 and Level 2
Course type Bachelor's Degree Specialist Degree Master's Degree
Entry requirements General secondary education or equivalent General secondary education or equivalent Bachelor's Degree

Specialist Degree

Duration of study (full-time) 4 years At least 5 years 2 years
Academic qualifications Bachelor's Degree certificate Specialist Degree certificate Master's Degree certificate
Qualification (Degree) BA, BSc Specialist MA, MSc
Type of study General basic training in a particular field without specialisation Focused on practical work in the chosen field In-depth learning of theoretical aspects with a focus on research
Form of final state assessment State examinations, preparation and defence of Bachelor's thesis State examinations and dissertation (project) defence

State examinations and Master's dissertation defence
Further study Master's Degree Master's Degree or other postgraduate courses Postgraduate courses
Employment

Positions requiring a higher education qualification

Level 3 Highest Professional Training
Course type Postgraduate course (MILITARY COURSE IN UNIVERSITIES OF THE RUSSIAN ARMED FORCES AND RUSSIAN MINISTRY OF INTERNAL AFFAIRS) Medical internship Assistantship
Entry requirements Master's or Specialist Degree Higher medical or pharmaceutical education MA or Specialist Degree
Duration of study 3–4 years (full-time),
4–5 years (part-time)
Up to 2 years

2 years, full-time only
Academic qualification certificate Postgraduate Degree certificate Medical internship certificate Assistantship certificate
Qualification (Degree) Researcher (qualification), research fellow (qualification),

Candidate of Sciences (degree)

Specialist Specialist of highest qualification, senior professor
Type of study Part study, teaching, hands-on experience, research In-depth study of teaching, clinical and medical and social rudiments of medical sciences;

acquisition of skills and abilities for independent professional activity during practical study in a medical institution

Individual syllabus under the supervision of a mentor and head of department at the university
Form of final state assessment Three qualifying examinations for a candidate's Degree, state examination,

dissertation defence

Three-stage qualification examination Creative and dramatic arts final graduation work (performance, solo recital, play, exhibition, or film)
Further career in a scientific and professional field Doctoral dissertation defence Further professional training to master a narrower specialisation, postgraduate course Preparation of a candidate's dissertation for a Candidate in Art History Degree. Doctoral dissertation defence
Employment Research, analytical and scientific work in accordance with qualification Work in medical institutions according to qualification Teaching or professional work in the arts in accordance with qualification

Share


CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Уровни высшего образования

Изображение №1 – Уровни высшего образования © shutterstock.com

Первый уровень

Бакалавриат

Это законченное высшее образование. Поступать на программы бакалавриата могут обладатели образования, эквивалентного российскому среднему общему или среднему профессиональному. Учеба длится 4 года и предполагает общую фундаментальную подготовку.

По окончании студенты защищают квалификационную выпускную работу. По ее итогам выдается диплом бакалавра с присвоением квалификации («Академический бакалавр», «Прикладной бакалавр»). Документ дает право работать по профессии или продолжить обучение в магистратуре.

Второй уровень

Специалитет

Изображение №2 – Уровни высшего образования© РУДН

В отличие от бакалавриата программы специалитета ориентируют студентов на практическую работу в отрасли по выбранному направлению. На них поступают обладатели образования, эквивалентного российскому среднему общему или среднему профессиональному. Обучение длится не менее 5-ти лет. По итогам сдачи экзаменов и защиты дипломной работы выдается диплом специалиста с указанием присвоенной квалификации (например, «Астроном», «Преподаватель», «Специалист по защите информации» и пр.). Выпускники специалитета имеют право на профессиональную деятельность и могут продолжить образование в магистратуре или аспирантуре.

Магистратура

Позволяет углубить специализацию по выбранному направлению. На программы магистратуры могут поступать бакалавры и специалисты. Обучение длится не менее двух лет и предусматривает подготовку студента к научно-исследовательской деятельности. Выпускники защищают выпускную работу (магистерскую диссертацию), по итогам которой выдается диплом магистра и присваивается квалификация «Магистр».

Выпускники магистратуры имеют право на профессиональную деятельность и могут продолжить образование в аспирантуре.

Третий уровень – подготовка кадров высшей квалификации

Изображение №3 – Уровни высшего образования© ННГУ
АСПИРАНТУРА – форма подготовки научно-педагогических кадров. В аспирантуру могут поступать выпускники магистратуры или специалитета. Обучение включает образовательную часть, педагогическую деятельность, практику, научно-исследовательскую работу. Аспиранты выбирают научное направление, тему исследования для своей диссертации. Обучение на очной форме длится не менее 3-х лет, на заочной – не менее 4-х. Выдается диплом об окончании аспирантуры с присвоением квалификации («Исследователь», «Преподаватель-исследователь»). По итогам защиты диссертации присваивается степень кандидата наук – первая степень, официально подтверждающая статус ученого. Кандидаты наук допускаются к соисканию степени доктора наук (второй степени, подтверждающей статус ученого), присуждаемой по итогам защиты докторской диссертации.

АДЪЮНКТУРА – аналог аспирантуры в учебных заведениях, относящихся к Министерству внутренних дел и Минобороны России.

ИНТЕРНАТУРА – форма последипломного обучения выпускников медицинских вузов, по итогам которого им присваивается право профессиональной деятельности. Учеба длится в течение года, представляет собой практику в медучреждении под руководством старших коллег.

Изображение №4 – Уровни высшего образования© КФУ

ОРДИНАТУРА – это завершающая ступень подготовки по ряду направлений в области медицины (фармацевтики). К поступлению в ординатуру допускаются обладатели высшего медицинского (или фармацевтического) образования. Обучение длится 2 года и представляет собой сочетание углубленного изучения основ медицинских наук с практикой в медицинских учреждениях, в ходе которой студенты формируют необходимые профессиональные умения и навыки. По окончании сдается трехступенчатый квалификационный экзамен. Выпускникам выдается диплом об окончании ординатуры и присваивается квалификация специалиста, дающая право работы в медицинских учреждениях.

АССИСТЕНТУРА-СТАЖИРОВКА – форма подготовки работников высшей квалификации в области искусств. По программам ассистентуры-стажировки могут обучаться выпускники специалитета или магистратуры в данной области. Срок обучения не превышает двух лет и представляет собой реализацию индивидуального учебного плана под контролем научного руководителя и заведующего кафедры учебного заведения. Выпускная работа представляет собой выступление, концерт, показ, выставку, фильм в зависимости от специализации. По окончании ассистентуры-стажировки выдается диплом о ее окончании с присвоением квалификации («Концертный исполнитель и преподаватель высшей школы»), дающий право исполнительской и преподавательской деятельности.

Второе высшее образование

Российское законодательство гарантирует россиянам бесплатное получение лишь одного высшего образования (I, II, III уровней), за второе всегда приходится платить. Иностранцы, закончившие университет за пределами Российской Федерации, могут получить второе высшее образование в российских вузах как платно, так и за счет средств госбюджета РФ (при условии успешного прохождения конкурсного отбора). Это можно сделать в формате бакалавриата (до 4-х лет обучения), специалитета (до 6-ти лет) или магистратуры (не менее 2-х лет).

Конкурсный отбор проходит на основе вступительных экзаменов. По окончании выдается диплом, подтверждающий присвоение квалификации.

Первый и второй уровни образования
Вид образования Бакалавриат Специалитет Магистратура
Образовательный ценз при поступлении Среднее общее образование или его эквивалент Среднее общее образование или эквивалент Бакалавриат

Специалитет

Сроки обучения (очная форма) 4 года Не менее 5 лет 2 года
Получаемый документ об образовании Диплом бакалавра Диплом специалиста Диплом магистра
Приобретаемая квалификация (степень) Академический бакалавр, прикладной бакалавр Специалист Магистр
Характер образования Общая фундаментальная подготовка по определенному направлению без узкой специализации Ориентировано на практическую работу в отрасли по выбранному направлению Глубокое освоение теоретических аспектов, ориентированное на научно-исследовательскую деятельность
Форма итоговой государственной аттестации Сдача государственных экзаменов, подготовка и защита бакалаврской выпускной квалификационной работы Сдача государственных экзаменов и защита дипломной работы (проекта)

Сдача государственных экзаменов и защита магистерской диссертации
Дальнейшее обучение Магистратура Магистратура или аспирантура Аспирантура
Место на рынке труда

Должности, для которых квалификационными требованиями предусмотрено высшее образование

Третий уровень образования
Вид образования Аспирантура (адъюнктура – в вузах Вооруженных Сил России и Министерства внутренних дел России) Ординатура Ассистентура-стажировка
Образовательный ценз при поступлении Магистратура или специалитет Высшее медицинское или фармацевтическое образование Магистратура или специалитет в области культуры
Сроки обучения 3-4 года (очная),
4-5 (заочная)
Не более 2 лет

2 года, только очная форма
Выдаваемый документ об образовании Диплом об окончании аспирантуры Диплом об окончании ординатуры Диплом об окончании ассистентуры-стажировки
Приобретаемая квалификация (степень) Исследователь (квалификация), преподаватель-исследователь (квалификация),

кандидат наук (степень)

Специалист Специалист высшей квалификации, преподаватель в высшей школе
Характер образования Образовательная часть, педагогическая деятельность, практики, научно-исследовательская работа Углубленное изучение методологических, клинических и медико-социальных основ медицинских наук;

формирование умений и навыков самостоятельной профессиональной деятельности во время практики в медучреждении

Индивидуальный учебный план под контролем руководителя и заведующим кафедрой высшего заведения
Форма итоговой госаттестации Три кандидатских экзамена, государственный экзамен,

защита диссертации

Трехступенчатый квалификационный экзамен Выпускная работа по творческо-исполнительской специальности (выступление, сольный концерт, спектакль, выставка или фильм)
Дальнейшая карьера в научной и профессиональной сфере Защита докторской диссертации Профессиональная переподготовка с целью освоения более узкой специализации, аспирантура Написание кандидатской диссертации для получения степени кандидата искусствоведения. Защита докторской диссертации
Место на рынке труда Исследовательская, аналитическая, научная деятельность в соответствии с квалификацией Работа в медицинских учреждениях по квалификации Педагогическая или профессиональная деятельность в области искусств в соответствии с квалификацией

Поделиться в соцсетях


Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X