International Сooperation

One of main priorities of Tomsk State University is development of the international cooperation with the leading international training and research centers. 

In 2013, TSU was a coordinator of a large-scale TEMPUS project which gathered ten Russian and international partner higher education institutions. Besides, TSU cooperates with Makarturov Fund,    Oxford Russian Fund and others. 17 projects have been organized with such non-profit organization as INTAS and TEMPUS TACIS.

Every year TSU improves its position in different rankings. According to INTERFAX rankings TSU is the only Tomsk higher education institution, which has been included in the top ten universities among the CIS countries, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia and takes the 10th place among Russian higher educational institutions, which have entered the Webometrics universities rankings. Currently more than 170 interuniversity agreements are concluded with TSU. There are number of partners from Europe (Great Britain, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Italy, and Slovenia), Latin America (Brazil), Southeast Asia (Vietnam, Laos, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Singapore), the Southern Asia (India), East Asia (China, Japan).

The key partners of Tomsk State University are:

  • Leiden University, Netherlands 
  • Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • University of Durham, Great Britain 
  • Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany 
  • Ecole Polytechnique, France
  • Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
  • Maastricht University, Netherlands
  • Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Indian Institute of Technologies, Bombay, India

Tomsk State University seeks to expand its networks with international representatives. Since 2015 TSU has became the coordinator of Russian-Indian Association of Universities and Global Universities Association – the Italian Universities. Since 2006, the University is in the European Association of Universities (EUA); is a member of the European Network of Continuous Education (EUCEN), and network of National Ecological Observatories (NEON, the USA).

Since 2013 Professor Terrence Vincent Callaghan, head of TSU International Academic Council, takes active participation in promoting TSU at the international level. Prof.  Callaghan is an expert of the United Nations in global climate changes, and possesses the special certificate of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for an outstanding contribution in receiving IPCC Nobel Peace Prize. In 2016, Trans-Siberian Scientific Way global research center was founded by virtue of SecNET international network and personal support of prof. Callaghan. This center deals with comprehensive understanding of changes of the environment in Siberia, and consequences of these changes on a global scale. Not only Russian scientists but also representatives Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Norway, Sweden, and the Czech Republic scientific centers are involved in the project. 

In 2008 Confucius's Institute was opened with the assistance of Shenyang Ligong University. In 2016, TSU Confucius Institute became the best Confucius Institute in Russia. In addition, in 2010 the analogue of Confucius Institute – the Center for Russian Studies named after A. S. Pushkin was opened in Shenyang Ligong University. The development of the Center would not be possible without help from TSU.

TSU offers double degree programmes for both bachelor’s and  master’s students. Double degree programmes are implemented together with Maastricht University (Netherlands), Lille University-1 – Sciences and Technologies (France), Free University of Brussels (Belgium). University of Coimbra (Portugal), Kyrgyz National University of Zh. Balasagyn and Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan), the L.N.Gumilyov Eurasian National University (Kazakhstan). Together with French, Spanish and German universities TSU is offering PhD programmes. 

There are also exchange programmes for students within the Erasmus+ programme at TSU. Poland, Bulgaria, Sweden, Great Britain, Germany, Finland are partner countries. 

Carrying out summer and winter schools became tradition for Tomsk State University. 

The key arrangements:   

  • the international winter school of intensive training of Russian for students from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore;
  • the international winter school of intensive training in Russian for students from University of Leeds, Great Britain;
  • the IV International summer scientific and educational school "Environmental conditions and Habitats of Person in Arctic and Alpine Regions" for students from University of Sun Yat-sen, China.