International Students Testimonials

© FEFU

Lasse Rautio Marcus, Finland

Far Eastern Federal University

Vladivostok destroyed all the stereotypes about Russia

Although Russia and Finland share a long borderline, few Finns speak Russian because it is too difficult to learn. But employees with a good command of Russian are in great demand with businesses, especially tourism-related business, and I thought it would be useful to learn the language.

However, despite my intensive classes, I really felt I lack communication skills in Russian. A couple of years ago I thought a lot about going to Russia as an exchange student but did not apply then due to some stereotypes about the country which are typical of Finns.

Like many of my fellow countrymen, I thought that in Russia I could be robbed while crossing the border or that I could become a victim of the Russian mafia. Not to mention the outrageous bureaucracy and the police, which should not be trusted.

But then I grew older and wiser, and I decided simply to ignore all that and go to Russia.

But I had to decide where exactly I would go. Most often Finnish students go to Saint Petersburg, Moscow, Petrozavodsk, or Murmansk. 99% of the population of Finland never think about the existence of any other Russian cities.

I was always attracted to exotic things, and I also wanted to go somewhere where no other Finn had ever been. So I took a map and found the farthest place which has a university with a Department of Chemistry. And I found that in Vladivostok. I was especially charmed by the fact of Asian influence on the city.

It felt like an adventure from the very beginning. The trip from Moscow to Vladivostok, which is more than 9,000 km along the Trans-Siberian Railway, was a truly extraordinary journey, during which I gasped in surprise every now and then. During the six days of the trip, I saw so many beautiful places and diverse nature that I sometimes wondered whether I was somehow teleported to Northern Norway.

What was my first impression of Vladivostok? Sopkas. A lot of them. Mysterious atmosphere. A combination of Asian architecture, Stalin-era high-rise buildings and ultra-modern ones. It felt like home for me at once.

Far Eastern University also made me forget all my ideas about Russian higher education, which I envisaged as a cold, concrete industrial training areas and lecture halls, where a professor may behave like an angry god. But I didn't see any crowded dormitories in Vladivostok, nor any cockroaches in the dorms.

In FEFU dormitories I felt like a guest at a hotel. There are even carpets in the corridors (in Finland, these are only found in hotels), and the rooms are being cleaned. When you add a sea view to all that, it feels like a real resort. By the way, the fact that a cleaning service is provided here caused the most envy and jokes from my friends in Finland.

The learning process is very effective, the teachers are very friendly and down to earth, and they put up with my Russian language, which is, to put it mildly, not very good. The same is true for other university stuff: I did not have any difficulties with settling down, issuing documents, or communication. I always got assistance, and if I could not describe what I needed in Russian, I switched to English, and this was not a problem.

One more old Finnish stereotype, the one about Soviet-style bureaucracy, was destroyed too. Officials from hell who make you run to fetch more and more documents have obviously disappeared together with the Soviet Union.

But the most pleasant surprise during my residence in Russia was the people. Whatever I asked them, they were always very friendly and helpful.

I hope I will manage to destroy the stereotypes about Russia and help to attract as many people as possible to study here. I was the first student from Finland who studied in this wonderful place, Far Eastern Federal University, and I will do my best to make sure that I am not the last.

Share

Testimonials

Yorlynn Engmann
USA
MISiS

"I was sure that the only things in Russia were forests and the cold. Fortunately, I was wrong"

Read more

Durjay Sarkar Jay
Bangladesh
UrFU

"The teaching process at the university complies with the wishes and needs of the students"

Read more

Essi Maekelae
Finland
SPbPU

"I spent approximately 25000 – 28000 roubles (385 – 430 $) in a month including living and shopping costs"

Read more

Daodao Yang
China
HSE University

"I was influenced by Russian mathematics"

Read more

Magaly Choez
Ecuador
MEPhI

"When I arrived, I did not know a word in Russian. Now it seems funny to me"

Read more

Michel Jean Georges Kowalewski
France
ITMO University

"There is much in common between towns in France and Saint Petersburg, it gives me feeling of home"

Read more

Umar bin Mat Yaacob
Malaysia
MSMU

"I want to be a heart surgeon, it is an interesting profession"

Read more

Sonia Pandis Navarro
Spain
UNN

"In Nizhny Novgorod, I had the best experience I’ve ever had in my life"

Read more
All testimonials

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Отзывы иностранных студентов

© ДВФУ

Лассе Раутио Маркус, Финляндия

Дальневосточный федеральный университет

Владивосток разрушил все стереотипы о России

Несмотря на большую протяженность границ между Россией и Финляндией, мало кто из финнов говорит по-русски, потому что его слишком сложно учить. Но сферы бизнеса и туризма остро нуждаются в сотрудниках со знанием русского, и я подумал, что будет полезно его выучить.

Однако, несмотря на мои интенсивные занятия, я остро ощущал нехватку общения на русском. Пару лет назад я всерьез задумался о поездке в Россию в качестве студента по обмену, но отправить заявку мешали типичные для финна стереотипы об этой стране.

Как и многие мои соотечественники, я думал, что тут меня могут ограбить во время перехода границы или, что я стану жертвой русской мафии. Не говоря уже о высоком уровне бюрократии и полиции, которой не стоит доверять.

Но когда я стал старше и мудрее, я решил просто проигнорировать это все и поехать в Россию.

Но куда именно? Чаще всего финские студенты едут в Санкт-Петербург, Москву, Петрозаводск или Мурманск. О существовании других российских городов 99% жителей Финляндии и не догадываются.

Меня всегда привлекала экзотика, к тому же я хотел побывать там, где еще ни один финн не был. Поэтому я взял карту и выбрал самое дальнее место, где есть университет с химическим факультетом. И такое нашлось во Владивостоке. Особо меня подкупило азиатское влияние на город.

Приключения начались с самого начала. Сам путь от Москвы до Владивостока – более 9 000 км по Транссибирской магистрали – был просто необыкновенным путешествием, во время которого я то и дело раскрывал рот от удивления. За шесть дней поездки я увидел столько красивых мест, разнообразной природы, в какой-то момент я подумал, что телепортировался в Северную Норвегию.

Первое впечатление о Владивостоке? Сопки. Много сопок. Мистика. Сочетание азиатской архитектуры, сталинских высоток и ультрасовременных зданий. Я сразу почувствовал себя как дома.

Дальневосточный университет также разрушил все мои представления о российской высшей школе – холодные, бетонные производственные и лекционные залы, где преподаватель – гневный Бог. Ничего этого так же, как и переполненных общежитий с тараканами, во Владивостоке я не увидел.

В общежитиях ДВФУ я ощущал себя, словно постоялец гостиницы. Там ковры даже в коридорах (в Финляндии такое можно увидеть только в отелях), а в комнатах убираются, добавьте к этому вид на море, и вы получите самый настоящий курорт. Кстати, факт уборки вызывал больше всего зависти и шуток среди моих друзей в Финляндии.

Процесс обучения очень эффективен, преподаватели очень дружелюбные, несмотря на мой, мягко говоря, не слишком хороший русский. То же самое касается и других сотрудников: у меня не было никаких трудностей с обустройством, оформлением документов, общением. Мне везде оказывали помощь, если я не мог сформулировать свою просьбу на русском, то переходил на английский, и с этим не было проблем.

Еще один старый финский стереотип о советской бюрократии тоже рассыпался. Чиновники-дьяволы, заставляющие тебе бегать за каждой бумажкой, судя по всему, исчезли вместе с Советским Союзом.

Но самым приятным сюрпризом за все время моего пребывания в России были люди. С чем бы я не обратился к ним, они всегда были очень доброжелательны и готовыми помочь.

Надеюсь, мне удастся разрушить стереотипы о России и способствовать тому, чтобы как можно больше людей приезжали сюда учиться. Я первый студент из Финляндии, который учился в этом замечательном месте – ДВФУ, и я приложу усилия к тому, чтобы я не был последним.

Поделиться в соцсетях

Отзывы

Шрея Салви
Индия
БФУ

«В общежитии у нас бесплатный интернет и прачечная»

Читать полностью

Себастьян Сатива
Колумбия
СФУ

«Да, в Сибири холодно, но природа просто прекрасна!»

Читать полностью

Аль-Улеймат Аднан Амер Ахмед
Иордания
ЮУрГУ

«Я получил стипендию и приехал учиться в Россию»

Читать полностью

Чаудхари Трибикрам
Индия
МИСиС

«Я доволен, обучение проходит на высшем уровне»

Читать полностью

Йапау Кайхэ
Лаос
ТГУ

«Я решил учиться в России, потому что здесь можно получить качественное образование»

Читать полностью

Ахмед Ибрагим
Египет
ТПУ

«В России сильная энергетическая школа, здесь дают фундаментальные знания»

Читать полностью

Тио Росалина
Индонезия
УрФУ

«В России я быстро нашла новых друзей»

Читать полностью

Сюеци Юй
Китай
ННГУ

«Наша поездка в Нижний Новгород была незабываемой»

Читать полностью
Все отзывы

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Официальный сайт о высшем образовании в России для иностранцев.

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Копирование материалов сайта без разрешения запрещено

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

X
Соглашение о персональных данных