International Students Testimonials

© FEFU

Sergio Navarro Berlanga, Mexico

Far Eastern Federal University

If you know how to play guitar, be sure to take one with you! You'll become part of the crowd

I enrolled in the Master's program of Far Eastern Federal University a year and a half ago. Why did I choose FEFU? Firstly, it is a world-class university, and I am sure of the high quality of education, and secondly, I really wanted to stay in Vladivostok, and not in the capital. I was always fascinated by this point on the map: the city is in Asia, but it's not an Asian city in the full sense, and this is Russia at the same time. It is interesting, is unusual and, of course, affects Vladivostok and its inhabitants. It seems to me that there is very little real Russian in it: the life and culture of the Asian neighbors with local color are intertwined here, forming a completely unexpected appearance.

I study international relations, and my programme is completely English-speaking one, but you know, it does not stop me from communicating with Russian friends. Only here I realized how Russian people are friendly, despite the hackneyed stereotype of their unfriendliness. To the contrary, with the seeming openness of Hispanics, we greatly value personal space and it is difficult for us to step over these boundaries so easily. I remember how my friends and I were standing at a bus stop on a winter evening. The bus never came, and to warm up a little, we got into a tight circle and pressed against each other. I can not imagine such a thing in Mexico! I feel a warm attitude, friendly support, a sincere interest in my country and culture and am happy to share it.

I know that many international visitors find it hard to get used to the local cuisine. For a Mexican, this is especially important, we have, so to speak, the cult of food in the country. Here I fell in love with buckwheat. That's it! And dresser herring salad. For the first time, I was treated to it by one of my friends. It happens all the time. As soon as we meet, everyone treats me to something. And I really love the dishes of Central Asian cuisine: shish kebabs and pilaf.

Please do not laugh, but my international friends and I somehow composed a small plan "What to do first of all before entering the Russian university." So, first of all you should learn to play some music instrument, and if you already know how to play, for example, a guitar, be sure to take one with you! You'll become part of the crowd.

The second tip is not to take a lot of things with you. Bring the essentials for the first two weeks with you, and buy the rest here. You can not even imagine how capricious weather can be sometimes, and do not know what gloves or jacket will make you warm in the cold season. I threw out almost everything I brought with me, and my friends helped me dress warmly in local shops.

The third advice is to try to master at least the basic level of the Russian language in your country. It is important for all the details to be explained to you by your compatriot in your native language.

The university has a friendly atmosphere. Learning is both difficult and interesting. I plan to stay here for a while longer after graduation to learn better Russian. After that, I plan to write a book about the relationship between Russia and Mexico. I have a good story to tell and it will be a combination of a historical essay describing the development of relations in different spheres.

Share

Testimonials

Carlos Beymunt
Spain
SibFU

" It’s not hard to adapt in Russia especially if you have a good company"

Read more

Ke Haishan
China
SUSU

"This programme is created under the framework of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization"

Read more

Gabriel Jimenez
Salvador
MIPT

"It is not easy to study here, but you will get a high-quality education"

Read more

Martina Arabadzhieva
Bulgaria
SPbPU

"I hold Russian culture and architecture close to my heart"

Read more

Rodrigo Sanchez
Guatemala
IKBFU

"You can walk from the university to the city center "

Read more

Jigisha Agarwal
India
FEFU

"I was amazed by the modern beautiful campus, a real student town"

Read more

Wan Tzu Yi
Taiwan
HSE University

"Learning Russian helps to understand better Russian culture and mentality"

Read more

Linn-Kazee Bezuidenhout
Namibia
MSMU

"I attend lectures in English and I am also studying Russian"

Read more
All testimonials

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

Official website about higher education in Russia for foreigners

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Content copying is strictly prohibited

CONTACTS

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

X

Privacy Policy

Sitemap

Отзывы иностранных студентов

© ДВФУ

Серхио Наварро Берланга, Мексика

Дальневосточный федеральный университет

Если вы умеете играть на гитаре, берите ее с собой – будете душой компании

Я поступил в магистратуру Дальневосточного федерального университета полтора года назад. Почему выбрал именно ДВФУ? Во-первых, это университет мирового уровня, и я уверен в высоком качестве образования, во-вторых, мне очень хотелось оказаться именно во Владивостоке, а не в столице. Меня всегда завораживала эта точка на карте – город вроде находится в Азии, но это ведь и не азиатский город в полном смысле, а все еще Россия. Это интересно, необычно и, конечно, отражается на Владивостоке и его жителях. Мне кажется, истинно русского в нем мало – здесь переплетаются быт и культура азиатских соседей с местным колоритом, формируя совершенно неожиданный облик.

Я изучаю международные отношения, и моя программа полностью англоязычная, но знаете, мне это совсем не мешает общаться с русскими друзьями. Только здесь я понял, насколько русские дружелюбны, несмотря на избитый стереотип об их неприветливости. И наоборот, при кажущейся открытости латиноамериканцев мы очень дорожим личным пространством и нам сложно перешагнуть эти границы так просто. Помню, как мы с друзьями в один из зимних вечеров довольно долго стояли на автобусной остановке. Автобуса все не было, и, чтобы хоть немного согреться, мы встали в плотный круг и прижались друг к другу. Не могу представить подобное в Мексике! Я чувствую теплое отношение, дружескую поддержку, искренний интерес к моей стране и культуре и рад этим делиться.

Знаю, что многим иностранцам тяжело привыкнуть к местной кухне. Для мексиканца это особенно важно – у нас, если можно так выразиться, культ еды в стране. Здесь я полюбил гречку. Да-да! И селедку под шубой. Впервые меня ею угостил кто-то из друзей. Это происходит постоянно. Как только мы собираемся, меня все чем-то угощают. И очень люблю блюда среднеазиатской кухни: шашлыки, плов.

Не смейтесь, но мы с друзьями-иностранцами как-то составили небольшой план «Что сделать в первую очередь перед поступлением в российский вуз». Итак, в первую очередь научитесь играть на каком-нибудь инструменте, а если уже умеете играть, например, на гитаре, обязательно берите ее с собой! Станете своим в любой компании.

Второй совет – не берите много вещей. Везите самое необходимое на первые две недели, остальное купите здесь. Вы даже не представляете, какая капризная погода порой бывает, и не знаете, какие именно перчатки или куртка вас согреют в холодное время года. Я выкинул практически все, что привез с собой, и друзья помогали мне тепло одеться в местных магазинах.

Третий совет – постарайтесь освоить хотя бы базовый уровень русского языка в своей стране. Важно, чтобы все тонкости вам объяснил ваш соотечественник на родном языке.

В университете царит дружеская атмосфера. Учиться и сложно, и интересно. В планах после окончания университета остаться здесь еще ненадолго, чтобы выучить русский язык. После этого я планирую написать книгу о взаимоотношениях России и Мексики. Мне есть что рассказать – это будет сочетание исторического очерка с описанием развития отношений в разных сферах.


Поделиться в соцсетях

Отзывы

Габриэль Хименес
Сальвадор
МФТИ

«Учиться непросто, но здесь вы получите качественное образование»

Читать полностью

Родриго Санчес
Гватемала
БФУ

«От университета до центра города можно дойти пешком»

Читать полностью

Карлос Беймунт
Испания
СФУ

«В России несложно адаптироваться, особенно если у вас подходящая компания»

Читать полностью

Кэ Хайшань
Китай
ЮУрГУ

«Программа построена с учетом требований Шанхайской организации сотрудничества»

Читать полностью

Мартина Арабаджиева
Болгария
СПбПУ

«Мне близка российская культура и архитектура»

Читать полностью

Джигиша Агарвал
Индия
ДВФУ

«Меня поразил современный красивый кампус – настоящий студенческий городок»

Читать полностью

Ван Цзу И
Тайвань
ВШЭ

«Изучение русского языка помогает узнать больше про российскую культуру и менталитет»

Читать полностью

Линн-Казес Безуиденхут
Намибия
МГМУ

«Осваиваю русский язык в процессе учебы»

Читать полностью
Все отзывы

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Официальный сайт о высшем образовании в России для иностранцев.

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Копирование материалов сайта без разрешения запрещено

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте
напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

X

Соглашение о персональных данных

Карта сайта