Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia

Festivals and Special Occasions

Picture №2 - Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© HSE University

A variety of festivals for young people is held in Russia, including music, theatre, sports, ethnic, and linguistic festivals etc. Most students are not only the audience but also the participants of these performances – they sing, dance, appear in drama performances, and reveal their various talents.

Parties

Picture №3 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© BFU

The most memorable event in the life of any student is the initiation ceremony for freshmen and graduation day.

The third year is when students celebrate their Equator, that is, the mid-point of their university studies. The event features concerts, skits, and jokes. As a rule, each university has its own amusing rituals for freshmen and graduates.

For example, Hippocrates himself greets medical students at their admission ceremony, biology students are given different liquids to try, such as tea, citric acid, etc., and are asked to determine the composition of the liquid, future journalists are offered to eat pieces of newspaper with jam.

Graduates also have their funny traditions: for example, medical graduates place bandages on the monuments of prominent Russian scientists Sechenov and Pirogov, graduates of the faculty of journalism of Moscow State University climb the monument to Lomonosov, the founder of the University, and graduates of Bauman MSTU ride around student hostels in washtubs tied to cars.

The Club of the Jolly and the Quick-Witted

Picture №4 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© PSU

The Club of the Jolly and the Quick-Witted (KVN) is where students from different departments compete in humorous acts and perform funny sketches. The wittiest participants form the University KVN team, which plays in inter-university games and the all-Russian KVN. The best of the best get to participate in a KVN television show.

Days of National Cultures

Picture №5 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© NSU

During the Days of National Cultures students from different countries tell other students about their home country, its culture, traditions, and national cuisine. Such meetings broaden the students’ horizons and help them learn many fascinating new things.

Performing Arts Studios and Schools

Picture №6 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© TSU

Universities run a variety of creative associations such as student theatres, bands, dancing groups, music and singing studios, etc. Even if you study physics or math, you can still enrol in a school of drawing or a literary club.

Debating Societies

Picture №7 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© FEFU

Debating societies welcome those who like to debate on social and political topics or aim to share their views on the future of science. Some universities run intellectual quizzes.

Hiking & Travel Clubs

Picture №8 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© PSU

Universities have hiking and travel clubs, which arrange joint trips, walks and hiking tours. Everyone is welcome to join the community.

Clubs and Societies

Picture №9 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© UNN

Russian students often establish clubs and societies to suit every interest, from paragliding to chess, motoring or oriental games such as dice and backgammon.

Volunteering

Picture №10 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© UNN

Universities have volunteer centres where students can learn about ongoing projects, initiatives, events, and volunteer internships in Russian and foreign organisations. There are opportunities to work as a volunteer in Russia and abroad. You can also find many communities in social networks devoted to volunteering in Russia. Join them and you will always be in the know when it comes to doing a good deed.

Sport

Picture №11 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© TSU

When you enrol in a Russian university, you automatically gain access to its sports grounds, stadiums, sports complexes, swimming pools, fitness halls, and its sports community. You can get involved in amateur and professional sports alike.

Each university hosts its own tournaments, competitions between departments, participates in intercollegiate, municipal, all-Russian and international competitions, including the Universiade.

Sports Clubs

Picture №12 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© UNN

Are you into sports? Join a sports club at your university. The coaches who work with students are staff from the physical education departments, honoured athletes, winners of national and international competitions. Students attend university sports clubs for free. Students who achieve outstanding results in different sports become members of university teams. For information on sports clubs, visit the pages of universities on the Study in Russia website or on the Sports sections of the university website.

Gyms

Picture №13 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© NSU

You do not have to join a club to pursue sporting interests. You can visit sports halls and gyms (many of which are in the buildings of the dormitories), swimming pools and other sports facilities at the university at a convenient time and at a discount, or free of charge (depending on the university).

Outdoor Activities

Picture №14 – Leisure Activities for Young People in Russia© TSU

There are many opportunities for outdoor activities in Russia. Parks and public gardens are great places to go rollerskating, cycling or skateboarding. In winter, you can visit skating rinks or ski-runs. There are also climbing walls and suburban resorts.

Share

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Молодежный досуг

Изображение №1 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ВШЭ

Студенты российских вузов живут активной жизнью — ходят на концерты, участвуют в фестивалях, конкурсах, спортивных соревнованиях, играют в студенческих театрах... Какой бы университет вы ни выбрали, везде сможете найти занятие по душе — будь то спорт, развлечения, творчество.

Фестивали и праздники

Изображение №2 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ВШЭ

В России проводятся самые разные фестивали для молодежи — музыкальные, театральные, спортивные, этнические, языковые и др. Часто студенты не только зрители, но и непосредственные участники таких представлений — они поют, танцуют, играют в спектаклях, словом, проявляют свои таланты.

Вечеринки

Изображение №3 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© БФУ им. Канта

Самые запоминающиеся события в жизни любого студента — церемонии посвящения в первокурсники и выпускной.

На третьем курсе отмечается «экватор» — середина учебы. В программе — концерты, капустники, шуточные розыгрыши. Как правило, у каждого вуза есть свои смешные ритуалы для первокурсников и выпускников.

Например, студентов-медиков на церемонии посвящения приветствует сам Гиппократ, студентам-биологам дают попробовать различные жидкости — чай, лимонную кислоту и т.д., и просят определить их состав, будущим журналистам предлагают съесть кусочки газеты с вареньем.

Не менее веселые обычаи у выпускников — дипломированные медики обвязывают бинтами памятники выдающихся российских ученых И. Сеченова и Н. Пирогова, выпускники журфака МГУ забираются на памятник основателю университета М. Ломоносову, а окончившие МГТУ им. Баумана катаются вокруг общежитий в тазиках, привязанных к машинам.

КВН

Изображение №4 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ПетрГУ

Клуб веселых и находчивых (КВН) — юмористические игры, где соревнуются студенты различных факультетов. Самых остроумных участников включают в сборную университета, которая играет в межвузовских и общероссийских играх КВН. Лучшие из лучших попадают на телевизионное шоу КВН.

Дни национальных культур

Изображение №5 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© НГУ

В Дни национальных культур студенты из разных стран рассказывают однокурсникам о своей родине, ее культуре, традициях, национальной кухне. Подобные встречи расширяют кругозор, позволяют узнать много нового и интересного.

Творческие студии, школы

Изображение №6 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ТГУ

При вузах работают разнообразные творческие объединения — студенческие театры, ансамбли, группы, танцевальные, вокальные, музыкальные студии и др. Даже если вы учитесь на физика или математика, ничто не мешает вам записаться в школу рисования или литературный кружок.

Дискуссионные клубы

Изображение №7 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ДВФУ

Для тех, кто любит дискутировать на общественные и политические темы или стремится поделиться мнением о будущем науки, открыты дискуссионные клубы. В некоторых вузах проводят интеллектуальные викторины.

Туристические клубы и путешествия

Изображение №8 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ПетрГУ

При университетах созданы клубы любителей путешествий организуются совместные прогулки, поездки, походы. Присоединиться к сообществу может любой желающий.

Клубы по интересам

Изображение №9 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ННГУ

Студенты российских вузов часто объединяются в различные сообщества по интересам — клубы парапланеристов, шахматистов, автомобилистов и даже любителей восточных игр (кости, нарды и пр).

Волонтерство

Изображение №10 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ННГУ

В вузах есть волонтерские центры, обратившись в которые можно узнать о текущих проектах, инициативах, мероприятиях, а также о волонтерских стажировках в российских и зарубежных организациях. Есть возможности работы в качестве волонтера в России и за ее пределами. В социальных сетях также немало групп и сообществ, посвященных волонтерству в России. Присоединившись к ним, вы всегда будете в курсе всех добрых дел.

Спорт

Изображение №11 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ТГУ

Поступив в российский вуз, вы автоматически получаете доступ к его площадкам, стадионам, спорткомплексам, бассейнам, тренажерным залам и спортивному сообществу. Можете заниматься любительским или профессиональным спортом.

Каждый вуз проводит свои турниры, спартакиады, участвует в межвузовских, городских, российских и международных состязаниях, включая Универсиаду.

Спортивные секции и клубы

Изображение №12 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ННГУ

Увлекаетесь спортом? Запишитесь в спортивную секцию или клуб при университете. Студентов тренируют преподаватели кафедр физической культуры, заслуженные спортсмены, призеры общенациональных или международных соревнований. Занятия в секциях бесплатны. Студенты, демонстрирующие выдающиеся результаты, попадают в университетские сборные по различным видам спорта.

Тренажерные залы

Изображение №13 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ННГУ

Чтобы заниматься спортом, необязательно записываться в секцию. Можно посещать спортивные и тренажерные залы (многие находятся в общежитиях), бассейны и другие спортплощадки университета в удобное для вас время по льготной цене или бесплатно (в зависимости от вуза).

Активный отдых

Изображение №14 – Как иностранному студенту в России весело провести свое свободное время© ТГУ

В России много возможностей для активного отдыха. В парках и скверах можно покататься на роликах, велосипедах, скейтборде. Зимой доступны катки, лыжные трассы. Есть скалодромы, пригородные базы отдыха.

Поделиться в соцсетях

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X