Country Specifics

Picture №1 – Country Specifics© UNN

Good to Know about the Russians

Like any other nation, Russians have certain traits that make up their cultural specifics. Knowing about such specifics beforehand, you will certainly feel better adjusted.

They Love Being Hospitable

Picture №2 – Country Specifics© shutterstock.com

Russians are renowned for their hospitality. They love inviting guests and are happy to visit their friends and acquaintances themselves. Generously served table is the main feature of such visits. When a Russian friend invites you for a cup of tea, you are advised not to eat at all before the visit. This is because Russians normally cover the guest table with almost everything edible they have in the house, including their home-made treats. A good housewife would be most disappointed to see an empty table in the middle of a party. For her, it would mean that the guests are still hungry and that the meals were insufficient.

Don't Go Visiting without a Gift

Russians don't visit friends and family unless they bring gifts. Even when you are invited to a modest meeting of friends and not some grand birthday party, you cannot arrive empty-handed. This may be a cake, candies, a bottle of wine, or a chocolate bar for the youngest family members. In fact, the gift itself is not so important. You just need to have one. Otherwise, you may be seen as a bit tight-fisted.

Russians Are Superstitious

Russians usually spit over their left shoulders when a black cat crosses their way, knock on a wooden item to avoid self-jinxing, and not whistle in a house to avoid losing money. If Russians have to return home after having forgotten something, they have to look in a mirror before leaving again.

To ensure a trip will be safe and successful, Russians have to sit in silence for a moment before leaving. Many believe that a broken mirror or spilt salt may bring bad luck.

Prior to an important event, such as an examination, Russians wish each other "Ni pukha ni pera" which correlates with the English "Break a leg!" and derives from a wish to a seeking hunter to gain neither beast ("pukha") nor bird ("pera"). Superstitious people believe that the opposite of whatever they wish will befall that person, i.e. good luck. The expected response is "K chertu!" meaning "To hell!", as otherwise the wish will not come true.

Students also have their superstitions:

  • they don't cut their hair during end-of-semester exams;
  • at midnight before an exam, they call out loudly for good luck, looking out of the window and waving their grade record book;
  • and they place a five-rouble coin under their heel during an exam.

People believe that these actions could bring you good grades. Certainly, all superstitions should be taken with a pinch of salt.

Russians Value Real Friendship

Picture №3 – Country Specifics© TSU

Friendship is a very important thing in the lives of Russians. A sincere friend might be valued higher than a blood relative.

Friends' fidelity and loyalty are not just empty words for many Russians.

They might start their friendship at primary school or at university and it will last throughout their lives.

Russians Like a Good Chat

Russians are not the ones who keep their opinions to themselves. Many people have developed an opinion on many aspects – from ways to grow marrows to White House foreign policy. Westerners often believe that opinions are suppressed in Russia. However, Russians freely express their opinions in different places – from lecture call of students to a press conference with the president.

Russians Don't Smile to Strangers

Russians are not accustomed to smiling without a reason, let alone concealing bad moods and life issues under cheerful expressions. This is just insincere, many Russians say. In public places, they prefer to maintain a concentrated expression. However, when Russians find themselves among friends, colleagues or close relatives, they could instantly become the most radiant cheerleaders, with inexhaustible laughter and joking.

Russians Value Women

The world knows that Russia is a country of the most beautiful women. Natalia Vodyanova, Maria Sharapova, Anna Kournikova, and many more Russian celebrities are living proof of this.

Russians treat women in a specific way. A man will give up his place to a woman in public transport, prevent a door closing too fast near a woman, and offer his hand to help a woman get out of a car. This is viewed as gallantry rather than infringement of women's rights or playing down their business skills. However, gazing at passing women in public places, pursuing them, paying obtrusive attention, or whistling are regarded as insults.

Russians Love Jokes

Russians are generally very cheerful people. They love joking, pulling each other's leg, and telling funny stories. They value good humour and satire and are capable of joking at their own expense. Russians often use citations from popular movies, in particular, Soviet comedies which are loved by almost everyone, regardless of their age. Sometimes, in order to understand Russian jokes, you need to just go and watch Soviet movie hits – Love and Doves, Moscow Does not Believe in Tears, The Pokrovsky Gate, The Diamond Arm, and many more.

Russians Like Visiting the Public Steam Baths

Picture №4 – Country Specifics© shutterstock.com

Going to the banya (a sort of sauna) is a special pastime for Russian men and women. They believe that time in the steam room cleans both your body and soul. Russians go to banya for not only to wash, but also to spend time with their friends.

The banya procedure includes selecting good company, washing, and sitting in the steam room. The longer you stay there, the better your health becomes and the stronger you become in spirit. After the steam room, people dive into an ice-hole or ice-water pool. After you finish the banya procedure and come out red-faced, you'll traditionally be greeted "S legkim parom!" (something like "Enjoy your steam!").

* * *

Main Holidays in Russia

Every year, Russians celebrate more than 50 official holidays – both national and religious celebrations and various professional and commemorative occasions. The Russians have a place to roam in the literal and figurative senses of the word.

New Year

New Year in Russia, russian holidays© shutterstock.com

This is the most important and most beloved holiday, with a New Year tree, presents, long family dinners, and magnificent fireworks. It is celebrated on the night before January 1. The main features of the Russian New Year are kind Father Frost and his granddaughter the Snow Maiden, champagne, caviar, Olivier salad, the chiming clock of the Kremlin, and the President's greetings on TV, and watching the seasonal Soviet comedy "The Irony of Fate."

Christmas

Christmas in Russia, russian holidays© shutterstock.com

This religious holiday is the second most important after Easter. In the night on January, 6 to January, 7, Orthodox churches across the country hold celebratory services. For Christmas, people decorate their houses and host a festive dinner. People often dabble in fortune-telling and single girls try to learn the name of their intended ones. Christmas prophesies are believed to be the most accurate.

Tatiana's Day (Undergraduates' Day)

Tatiana's Day, russian holidays© TSU

It is celebrated on January 25. In 1775, on the day dedicated to the early Christian martyr Tatiana of Rome, Elizabeth, the Russian Empress, signed a decree establishing Moscow University (now MGU for short), which subsequently became a centre for Russian science and culture. Now the university's birthday has become a holiday for all Russian students. In 2005, the status of this day was confirmed officially. On this day, university students recall their patroness Tatiana and celebrate the end of the winter exam session. Every city and university has its own traditions: amateur performances, balls, exhibitions, games, free refreshments, and entertainment.

Defender of the Fatherland Day

In Soviet times, this was the Day of the Soviet Army and Navy, and all military personnel were congratulated. In today's Russia, February 23 is a holiday not only for military personnel, but also for every man, regardless of whether or not they completed military service. In addition to greetings, men can expect gifts from colleagues and their loved ones. Russians love to joke: a woman choosing a present for February 23 knows that it will influence the choice of her present for March 8 (Women's Day).

Maslenitsa festival

Maslenitsa festival, russian holidays© shutterstock.com

This is a traditional Slavic holiday to see off the winter and welcome in the spring, also known as Butter or Crepe week. It is celebrated in the week preceding Lent when people visit one another to eat pancakes. On the seventh day of Maslenitsa festival, people gather for open-air merrymaking and the farewell to winter, when a Maslenitsa puppet is burned.

International Women's Day

Now it is simply referred to as Women's Day. On March 8, all women of the country, from little girls to grandmas, receive greetings and signs of admiration. They are told nice things and receive flowers and presents.

Easter

Easter in Russia, russian holidays© shutterstock.com

This ancient Christian holiday is celebrated in Russia in early spring. On this day, Orthodox churches conduct celebratory services and people greet each other "Khristos voskrese!" (Christ has risen) and answer "Voistinu voskrese!" (Verily he has risen). Specially for Easter, people make or buy a kulich (a ritual cake) and paskhas (a ritual pudding) and dye eggs.

Spring and Labour Day

In Soviet times, May 1 was known as International Workers' Solidarity Day. It was an official holiday with a distinct ideological colouring. The main features included mass demonstrations along the main streets, including Red Square in Moscow, with loud marches, and greetings from the Communist Party leaders on platforms. Now it is called Spring and Labour Day. Trade unions organise demonstrations designed to protect the rights of working people.

Victory Day

Victory Day in Russia, russian holidays© TSU

This is a major holiday in the country. On May 9, Russians celebrate victory over Nazi Germany and the end of what is known as the Great Patriotic War (1941 to 1945). Large-scale celebrations are held across the country, including the march to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Moscow, military parades in many cities, including Hero Cities, fireworks, and performances.

Russia Day

It is celebrated on June 12. Performances and other events are held across the country. Russia Day was established in 1990 to commemorate the adoption of the Sovereignty Declaration of the Russian Federation.

Religious Holidays of Russian Peoples

Religious Holidays of Russian Peoples© SibFU

Representatives of Russia's varied religious confessions have their own set of traditions. For instance, Muslims observe Ramadan (one-month fast) and celebrate Uraza Bairam (end of the fast) and Kurban Bairam (spring sacrifice); Hebrews celebrate Khanukkah (candle holiday) and Pesach (Jewish Easter); and Buddhists, Sagaalgan (White Month, Lunar New Year) and Zula Khural (Thousand Lamps). Some regions of Russia have established religious dates as official holidays, such as Tatarstan (Uraza Bairam and Kurban Bairam) and Buryatia (Sagaalgan).

Share

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Особенности страны

Изображение №1 – Особенности России и Россиян© ННГУ

Что нужно знать о россиянах

Россиянам, как и жителям любой страны, присущи черты характера, которые отличают их от представителей других культур. Зная о них, вы быстрее адаптируетесь к местным условиям.

Любят принимать гостей

Изображение №2 – Особенности России и Россиян© shutterstock.com

Россияне известны своим гостеприимством. Они любят встречать гостей и с удовольствием ходят к друзьям и знакомым сами. Щедро накрытые столы — главный атрибут таких встреч. Даже если вас пригласили на чашку чая, то лучше не есть перед визитом — русские имеют обыкновение выкладывать перед гостями едва ли не все имеющиеся дома запасы, в том числе и собственного приготовления. Нет ничего обиднее для хозяйки, чем зрелище пустого стола в разгар посиделок. В ее представлении, это признак того, что гости еще голодны, и еды было припасено недостаточно.

Не ходят в гости без подарка

В России не ходят в гости с пустыми руками. Даже если это не день рождения, а скромные дружеские посиделки. Нужно обязательно что-то принести. Это может быть торт, конфеты, бутылка вина или шоколадка для младших членов семьи. Сам подарок не так важен. Главное, чтобы он был. Иначе вас могут посчитать скупым.

Верят в приметы

Россияне обычно плюют через левое плечо, если дорогу перебежала черная кошка; стучат по дереву, чтобы не сглазить задуманное, и не свистят в доме, чтобы не остаться без денег. Если возвращаются в помещение, забыв какую-то мелочь, то перед уходом обязательно смотрятся в зеркало.

Чтобы поездка выдалась удачной, считают русские, нужно обязательно молча посидеть перед дорогой. Ничего хорошего, согласно поверьям, не сулит разбитое зеркало или просыпанная соль.

Перед важными событиями (например, перед сдачей экзамена) россияне желают друг другу «ни пуха, ни пера». В ответ нужно сказать: «К черту!», иначе не сработает.

Есть свои приметы и у студентов:

  • не стричься во время сессии;
  • в полночь перед экзаменом громко звать удачу, размахивая зачеткой из окна;
  • во время экзамена нужно подкладывать под пятку пятирублевую монету.

Считается, что эти манипуляции обеспечат хорошие оценки.
Конечно, ко всем приметам надо относиться с долей иронии.

Ценят настоящую дружбу

Изображение №3 – Особенности России и Россиян© ТГУ

Дружба — важная вещь в жизни россиян. Истинный друг порой бывает ближе родственника.

Понятия преданности, верности друзей не пустые слова для многих русских.

Настоящая дружба может начаться в школе или университете и длиться до конца жизни.

Любят поговорить

Россияне не из тех, кто привык держать свое мнение при себе. Большинство имеет свою позицию по широкому кругу вопросов — от способов выращивания кабачков до внешней политики Белого дома. Расхожий на Западе стереотип о политической цензуре в России не мешает россиянам открыто высказываться в самых разных местах — от студенческой аудитории до пресс-конференций с участием главы государства.

Не улыбаются незнакомцам

В России не привыкли улыбаться без причины, и уж тем более, скрывать за жизнерадостным выражением лица плохое настроение или проблемы. Это неискренне, считают многие россияне. В общественных местах они склонны сохранять сосредоточенное выражение лица. Но стоит русскому человеку очутиться в кругу коллег, друзей или родных, он моментально «перевоплощается» в самого улыбчивого на свете, а смеху и шуткам порой нет конца.

По-особому относятся к женщинам

О том, что в России очень красивые женщины, известно во всем мире. Наталья Водянова, Мария Шарапова, Анна Курникова и другие знаменитости русского происхождения — наглядное тому подтверждение.

В России существует особое отношение к представительницам прекрасного пола. Им уступают место в общественном транспорте, придерживают двери, подают руку, помогая выйти из машины. Такая галантность не расценивается как посягательство на независимость или принижение деловых качеств женщин. А вот пристальное рассматривание незнакомок в общественных местах, преследования, навязчивые ухаживания, посвистывания вслед воспринимаются как оскорбление.

Любят пошутить

Россияне — в целом народ веселый: любят шутки, розыгрыши и анекдоты. Ценят хороший юмор и сатиру, умеют посмеяться над собой. Частенько вставляют в свою речь цитаты из популярных фильмов, особенно советских комедий, к этим фильмам буквально все относятся с особой любовью независимо от возраста. Порой, чтобы понять, о чем шутят русские, нужно просто посмотреть советские кинохиты — «Любовь и голуби», «Москва слезам не верит», «Кавказская пленница», «Покровские ворота», «Бриллиантовая рука» и другие.

Ходят в баню

Изображение №4 – Особенности России и Россиян© shutterstock.com

Поход в баню в России — это особый вид времяпрепровождения как мужских, так и женских компаний. Считается, что парная очищает тело и душу. Русские ходят в баню не только помыться, но и пообщаться с друзьями или хорошими знакомыми.

Банный ритуал включает подбор подходящей компании, сам процесс мытья и пребывание в парилке — чем дольше человек парится, тем он здоровее и сильнее духом. После парной принято нырять в прорубь или бассейн с ледяной водой. По окончании «процедур» раскрасневшихся купальщиков приветствуют традиционной фразой «С легким паром!».

* * *

Главные праздники россиян

Каждый год в России отмечают свыше 50-ти только официально установленных праздников — от общенациональных и религиозных до профессиональных и памятных дат. Россиянам есть где разгуляться в прямом и переносном смыслах этого слова.

Новый год

Новый год в России, Дед Мороз© shutterstock.com

Самый главный и любимый праздник россиян — с елкой, подарками, долгими семейными застольями и грандиозными салютами. Отмечается в ночь на 1 января. Главные атрибуты Нового года в России — добрый Дед Мороз и его внучка Снегурочка, шампанское, икра, салат «Оливье», бой курантов и поздравление главы государства по ТВ, а еще обязательный просмотр советской комедии «Ирония судьбы».

Рождество Христово

Рождество Христово, российские праздники© shutterstock.com

Второй после Пасхи по важности праздник православных христиан в России. В ночь с 6 на 7 января в православных храмах по всей стране проходят торжественные богослужения. К Рождеству россияне украшают дома, устраивают застолья. Также принято гадать, незамужние девушки надеются узнать имя жениха. Считается, что рождественские предсказания самые точные.

Татьянин день (День российского студенчества)

Татьянин день© ТГУ

Отмечается 25 января. В 1775 году в день памяти раннехристианской мученицы Татианы Римской императрица Елизавета подписала указ об основании Московского университета (ныне МГУ), ставшего впоследствии центром русской науки и культуры. Со временем день рождения университета стал праздником российского студенчества. В 2005 году этот статус был закреплен официально. В этот день студенты чтят свою покровительницу Татьяну и празднуют окончание зимней сессии. В каждом городе и университете свои традиции: капустники, концерты, балы, выставки, игры, бесплатные угощения и развлечения.

День защитника Отечества

В советские годы его отмечали как День Советской Армии и Военно-Морского флота, поздравляя всех военных и военнослужащих. В современной России 23 февраля — это праздник не только военных, но и всех мужчин, независимо от того, служили они в армии или нет. В этот день, кроме поздравлений, они ожидают небольших подарков от коллег, родственников, друзей, своих жен и подруг. Россияне шутят: от того, что женщина подарит своему избраннику на 23 февраля, зависит, каким будет ее подарок в женский день (8 Марта).

Масленица

Масленица© shutterstock.com

Традиционный славянский праздник проводов зимы и встречи весны. Отмечается в течение недели перед Великим постом, во время которой принято ходить в гости на блины. На последний, седьмой, день приходятся массовые гуляния, которые завершаются ритуалом проводов зимы, когда сжигают чучело Масленицы.

Международный женский день

Международный день борьбы за права женщин в России отмечается просто как женский день. Восьмого марта все женское население страны от девочек до бабушек превращается в объект поклонения и обожания: в этот день им говорят только приятные вещи, дарят цветы и подарки.

Пасха

Пасха, российские праздники© shutterstock.com

Древнейший христианский праздник отмечается в России в начале весны. В этот день в православных храмах проходят торжественные богослужения, россияне приветствуют друг друга фразой «Христос воскресе», на которую принято отвечать «Воистину воскресе». Специально к Пасхе пекут или покупают пасхальные куличи и красят яйца.

Праздник Весны и Труда

В советское время 1 мая отмечали День международной солидарности трудящихся. Праздник был официальным, имел идеологическую окраску. Основные атрибуты — масштабные шествия под марши по центральным улицам городов, включая Красную площадь в Москве, приветствие руководства компартии с трибун. Сейчас это Праздник Весны и Труда. Шествия устраиваются профсоюзами, защищающими права работающих россиян.

День Победы

День Победы, российские праздники© ТГУ

Один из самых главных праздников страны: 9 мая отмечается победа СССР над нацистской Германией и окончание Великой Отечественной войны (1941-1945). В этот день по всей стране проходят масштабные празднования: шествие к Могиле Неизвестного Солдата в Москве, военные парады в городах-героях и праздничные салюты, концерты. Россияне чествуют ветеранов.

День России

Отмечается ежегодно 12 июня. В этот день по всей стране проходят праздничные мероприятия и концерты. Установлен в честь принятия в 1990 году декларации о государственном суверенитете Российской Федерации.

Религиозные праздники народов России

Религиозные праздники народов России© СФУ

Свои традиции есть у представителей различных конфессий, проживающих в России. В частности, мусульмане соблюдают Рамадан (месяц обязательного поста), празднуют Ураза-байрам (праздник окончания поста) и Курбан-байрам (весенний праздник жертвоприношения); иудеи справляют Хануку (еврейский праздник свечей) и Песах (еврейская пасха); буддисты — Сагаалган (праздник Белого месяца, первый день Нового года по лунному календарю) и Зула-Хурал (праздник тысячи лампад). В некоторых российских регионах дни религиозных праздников официально объявлены нерабочими, например, в Татарстане (Ураза-байрам, Курбан-байрам) и Бурятии (Сагаалган).

Поделиться в соцсетях

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X