Healthcare in Russia

Picture №1 - Healthcare in Russia© shutterstock.com

In Russia, healthcare is provided by the state and by private companies. You need a health insurance policy in order to be treated at state hospitals and health centres, including student clinics. Private clinics admit patients without insurance as long as they cover their own expenses.

Picture №2 – Healthcare in Russia© shutterstock.com

Only first aid and emergency medical care is available to foreign citizens in Russia free of charge.

First aid

First aid in case of emergency (accidents, injuries, intoxication and other) is rendered by police officers, military officers, fire and rescue service workers and other appropriately trained individuals.

Emergency medical care

Emergency medical care in cases of immediate threat to life and health (accidents, injuries, intoxication and other) is provided by officers of public healthcare institutions (doctors stabilise the patient’s condition and further treatment is possible only with a valid policy or payment of expenses).

All other types of medical services are rendered on a fee-paying basis. To receive these services, international students must obtain insurance covering routine treatment including check-ups, tests, prescriptions and specialist consultations.

VOLUNTARY HEALTH INSURANCE POLICY

International students typically come to Russia for quite a long period (from one term to 4-5 years) which is why an ordinary travel health insurance policy from their country of origin is unsuitable. This type of insurance policy is not valid in the majority of Russian hospitals and under such a policy the patient often has to pay for the treatment themselves and apply for a refund from the insurance company only once they have returned home. This is very inconvenient for students who are studying abroad.

Picture №3 – Healthcare in Russia© shutterstock.com

Upon arrival in Russia you need to purchase a voluntary health insurance (VHI) policy, which covers the minimum of medical services required by Russian law (including out-patient and in-patient care, hospitalisation and transportation) and is accepted at clinics and hospitals located near the place of your studies or residence. In this case, you will not be required to pay to see a doctor as it would be sufficient to present your student ID card (or passport) and your policy.

Before your departure for Russia, contact your university representatives and find out whether they provide assistance in obtaining a VHI policy. This is usually arranged by the international student offices. They will help you to arrange and obtain insurance from a partner company of university at a lower rate.

You can also obtain a VHI policy independently from any Russian insurer, but it will be quicker and less expensive to arrange it through the university.

How much does a VHI policy cost?

The cost of a VHI policy depends on the region, range of services (out-patient care, doctor call-out, emergency dental care, etc.) and the term of validity (from 3 months to 1 year).

In 2015 Russian insurance companies offered Moscow students VHI policies for between 6,000 and 9,000 roubles.

What documents are required to arrange a VHI policy?

Usually a passport and a migration card are required. In some cases a referral from the dean's office may be required. For further information please contact your chosen university’s international office or insurance companies.

Share


CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Медицинское обслуживание в России

Изображение №1 – Медицинское обслуживание иностранных студентов в России© shutterstock.com

Российская медицина бывает государственной и частной. Для лечения в государственных больницах и поликлиниках, в том числе в студенческих, необходим полис медицинского страхования. В частные клиники пациентов принимают и без страховки, но за услуги нужно платить.

Изображение №2 – Медицинское обслуживание иностранных студентов в России© shutterstock.com

Бесплатно иностранцам в России доступна только первая и скорая медицинская помощь.

Первая помощь

Первую помощь при непосредственной угрозе жизни и здоровью (несчастные случаи, травмы, отравления и другие состояния) оказывают полицейские, военнослужащие, пожарные, спасатели и другие лица с соответствующей подготовкой.

Скорая медицинская помощь

Скорую медицинскую помощь при непосредственной угрозе жизни и здоровью (несчастных случаях, травмах, отравлениях и других состояниях) обеспечивают сотрудники государственных медучреждений. (Врачи приводят пациента в стабильное состояние, дальнейшее лечение возможно только при наличии полиса или оплаты).

Остальные виды медицинских услуг платные. Для их получения иностранному студенту нужно приобрести страховку, покрывающую плановое лечение – консультации специалистов, анализы, обследования, выписку рецептов и др.

Полис ДМС

Как правило, иностранные студенты приезжают в Россию на довольно длительный период (от семестра до 4-5 лет), поэтому обычная туристическая медстраховка, которую они могут купить у себя в стране, не подойдет. Во-первых, она не действует в большинстве российских больниц. Во-вторых, по такому полису пациент зачастую сначала сам оплачивает лечение, и лишь по возвращении домой возмещает сумму у страховой компании. Для студентов, обучающихся за рубежом, это крайне неудобно.

Изображение №3 – Медицинское обслуживание иностранных студентов в России© shutterstock.com

По прибытии в Россию вам нужно купить полис добровольного медицинского страхования (ДМС), который покрывает прописанный в российском законе минимум медицинских услуг (в том числе амбулаторную и стационарную помощь, госпитализацию, транспортировку) и принимается в поликлиниках и больницах, расположенных недалеко от места вашей учебы или проживания. В этом случае при обращении к врачу вам не нужно будет платить, достаточно предъявить студенческий билет (или паспорт) и полис.

До отъезда в Россию свяжитесь с представителями вашего вуза и выясните, оказывают ли они содействие в оформлении полиса ДМС. Обычно этим занимаются сотрудники отделов по работе с иностранными учащимися. Они помогут вам оформить и приобрести страховку у компании-партнера вуза по льготной цене.

Вы также можете купить полис ДМС самостоятельно у любого российского страховщика, но через университет это будет быстрее и дешевле.

Сколько стоит полис ДМС

Стоимость полиса ДМС зависит от региона, объема услуг (амбулаторная помощь, вызов врача на дом, неотложная стоматология и др.) и срока действия (от 3 месяцев до 1 года).

В 2015 году российские страховые компании предлагали студентам московских вузов полисы ДМС за 6-9 тысяч рублей.

Какие документы нужны для оформления ДМС

Обычно нужно предоставить паспорт и миграционную карту. В некоторых случаях могут попросить направление из деканата. Подробности выясняйте в международных отделах вузов или страховых компаниях.

Поделиться в соцсетях


Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X