Advantages of Education in Russia

Picture №1 - Advantages to Study in Russia © UNN

According to the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), Russia has the most educated population in the world, outperforming Canada, Japan, Israel and the USA. More than half of Russians have higher education qualification. More than 200,000 people from 168 countries come to study at Russian universities. There are a lot of advantages to study in Russia, here are just a few:

Comprehensive University Education

Picture №2 - Advantages to Study in Russia© UT

In Russia, you can acquire in-depth, fundamental knowledge in all subjects, but the country is best known for its strong academic schools in physics, mathematics and natural sciences. Russia is a recognised world leader in training mathematicians, physicists, chemists, geologists, engineers, programmers, physicians, and specialists in other natural sciences. This is confirmed by the positions of Russian universities in world rankings (For more details, see the "Russian Universities in World University Rankings" section).


A Wide Range of Universities and Study Programmes

In Russia, international applicants can choose from:

  • 896 universities in 85 regions of the country, from Kaliningrad to Vladivostok;

  • 205 fields, from mathematics and natural sciences to the dramatic arts;

  • 657 subjects in Bachelor’s, Master’s, Specialist and Postgraduate Programmes (medical traineeships, postgraduate military courses), and internships and assistantships.

Picture №3 - Advantages to Study in Russia© TPU

Russian universities also offer preparatory programmes (training for enrolment on Bachelor’s, Master’s and Specialist Degree courses), short courses (summer university, a single term in Russia, summer schools), Russian as a foreign language courses, professional development and additional vocational training.

Optimum Ratio of Price and Quality of Education

Self-funded study is much cheaper at Russian universities than the equivalent in the USA, Canada and the UK, and in terms of the level of training provided, leading Russian universities compete on par with educational institutions in the West.

In 2014, the cost of studying at Russian universities in full-time Bachelor’s Degree Programmes started from 63,000 roubles a year (1,100 US dollars), depending on the subject studied (according to the standards established by the Russian Ministry of Education and Science). The maximum tuition fee at the most prestigious universities in the capital was as high as 344,000 roubles a year (6,100 US dollars), according to data from ratings agency Expert1.

Picture №4 - Advantages to Study in Russia© TPU

If you are considering universities located outside Moscow or Saint Petersburg, tuition and accommodation costs will be lower: prices in the regions are much lower than in the capital (see university websites for more detailed information on the tuition fee).

Funded Tuition

Picture №5 - Advantages to Study in Russia© RUDN University

Russia is one of the few countries to offer foreign citizens the opportunity to receive free tuition. Every year, the Russian government awards several thousand scholarships (quotas) to international students. For example, in 2015 universities were allocated 15,000 quotas. In addition, some categories of foreign citizens, including compatriots, may apply for state-funded places on equal terms with Russians but outside the quotas. Another possibility is taking part in university academic competitions: the winners and laureates of these competitions are given preferential terms when enrolling at leading Russian universities (on a quota basis and for state-funded places).

Opportunity to Learn Russian

Picture №6 - Advantages to Study in Russia© UNN

Russian is spoken by about 260 million people worldwide and some 10.5 million foreigners are regularly learning Russian. Russian universities offer different Russian language programmes, including courses, summer schools, and distance learning. In preparatory courses, international students take a year-long course in the Russian language and, for students who are enrolled in state-funded places (government scholarships), it is provided free of charge.

Opportunity to Study in English

Haven’t had time to learn Russian? No problem! More and more Russian universities are offering programmes taught in English.

Picture №7 - Advantages to Study in Russia© National Research Nuclear University MEPhI

Opportunity to Obtain Dual Diplomas

Picture №8 - Advantages to Study in Russia© HSE University

In 2003, Russia signed the Bologna Declaration, assuming several obligations as part of the creation of a common educational space of participant countries. Diplomas of Russian universities are recognised in most countries. This procedure is facilitated by intergovernmental agreements of Russia with more than 60 countries, including Finland, Spain, Cuba, India, Vietnam, China, Venezuela, and Namibia, while in June 2015 this document was also signed with France. Furthermore, many Russian universities are implementing joint programmes with foreign universities and are issuing dual diplomas to their graduates. In other words, by studying in Russia you can receive a Russian diploma and a diploma from a European university.

Comfortable and Well-Equipped Campuses and Dormitories

Picture №9 - Advantages to Study in Russia© FEFU

In terms of study facilities, Russian universities are a match for many western universities. High-level equipment for laboratories, scientific centres and study facilities are now a reality of student life today. Most Russian universities have their own dormitories with a relatively low cost of accommodation (For more details, see the "Аccommodation" section).

Easy Adaptation for International Students

Picture №10 - Advantages to Study in Russia© SibFU

Russia is a multinational country where representatives of the most diverse countries and cultures can easily adapt to life here. Russia is home to more than 200 ethnic groups that speak more than 100 different languages and dialects. The Russian constitution guarantees freedom of conscience: Christians, Muslims, Buddhists, Judaists, and representatives of other faiths peacefully coexist here. The country's multinational and ethnic structure illustrates the diversity of all spheres of life, from cultural to domestic. Unsurprisingly, many foreigners arriving in Russia feel at home here. Russian universities are proud of their long experience in the training and acclimatisation of international students: supervisory programmes are arranged for first-year students and there is an established network of student communities.

Different Climate Zones

Picture №11 - Advantages to Study in Russia© SibFU

Russia is a vast country where you can choose not only a course of study or university, but even your preferred climate – from a moderate continental climate in the European part of the country to the subtropical Black Sea coast of the Caucasus and southern Crimea. (For more details, see the "Climate" section).

Dazzling Culture

Picture №12 - Advantages to Study in Russia © UNN

Most people associate Russia with its culture, and Russians rightly take enormous pride in it. Russia has given the world many great writers, poets, philosophers, composers, artists and musicians: Leo Tolstoy, Anton Chekhov, Feodor Dostoyevsky, Nikolai Rerikh, Sergey Rakhmaninov, Boris Pasternak, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Sergey Eisenstein, Mstislav Rostropovich... Literature, ballet, classical music, architecture, painting, theatre and cinema: this is how Russia wins the hearts of people the world over. Russian cities today are centres of cultural life, where exhibitions, festivals, concerts, shows, performances and other cultural and entertainment events take place on a national and international level.

Sports

Picture №13 - Advantages to Study in Russia © TPU

Russia is a nation of sports enthusiasts that has given the world some of its greatest athletes: Irina Rodnina, Vyacheslav Tretyak, Maria Sharapova, Evgeny Plushchenko, Alexander Ovechkin, Elena Isinbaeva, Alexander Povetkin, and others. More than 60% of residents and 71% of students in Russia are involved in sport. Sports facilities include 70,000 gyms, 140,000 sports pitches and fields, and 4,800 swimming pools, accessible to all.

Russian universities typically have their own sports facilities and are well placed to offer students excellent opportunities to get involved in sport. Sports teams are formed at universities, many of which win prestigious competitions, including Universiades.

The country has hosted international sporting events on many occasions; in 2014, it hosted the Winter Olympics in Sochi and a Formula 1 race. The 2018 FIFA World Cup and the 2019 Winter Universiade (2019) are the next major events on the calendar.

Student Benefits

Picture №14 - Advantages to Study in Russia© KFU

Students in Russia are eligible for a range of discounts (more "Benefits for Students") including for travel on public transport, for visiting museums, libraries, theatres, concert halls, parks and other public and entertainment facilities.

Exciting Student Life

Picture №15 - Advantages to Study in Russia© UT

Students in Russia are never short of something to do after class. They take part in sports competitions, contests, student festivals and other recreational events. Universities have their own student theatres, sports teams, volunteer associations and student construction teams. A unique creative outlet for Russian students is the humorous KVN games (Club of the Merry and the Quick-Witted): the best university KVN teams take part in a televised contest broadcast on a central Russian TV channel.

Year-Round Travel

Picture №16 - Advantages to Study in Russia© UT

The Bolshoi Theatre, the Tretyakov Gallery, the Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts, the Hermitage, and St. Isaac's Cathedral are Russian cultural sights known worldwide, attracting millions of tourists every year. However, this is merely the tip of the iceberg on the list of things worth seeing. 26 Russian cultural sites are included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. In addition to the Kremlin and Red Square, the UNESCO list includes the monuments of Novgorod, Suzdal, Vladimir, the Holy Trinity Monastery of St. Sergius, Lake Baikal, the volcanos of Kamchatka, the Golden Mountains of Altai, the Novodevichy Convent, the Curonian Spit, and others. Many universities organise trips for students. The choice is almost endless: from the Golden Ring spanning 8 ancient Russian cities to traveling the legendary route of the Trans-Siberian Railway.

Share

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Преимущества обучения в России

Изображение №1 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев © ННГУ

По данным Организации экономического сотрудничества и развития (ОЭСР), Россия является самой образованной страной в мире, обгоняя по этому показателю Канаду, Японию, Израиль и США. Высшее образование имеют более половины россиян. Ежегодно на учебу в российские университеты приезжают свыше 200 000 человек из 168 стран мира. Образование в России имеет много преимуществ, вот лишь некоторые из них:

Фундаментальный характер университетского образования

Изображение №2 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ТюмГУ

В России можно получить глубокие, фундаментальные знания по всем направлениям, но больше всего страна известна своими сильными научными школами в области физико-математических и естественных наук. Россия – признанный мировой лидер в подготовке математиков, физиков, химиков, геологов, инженеров, программистов, врачей и специалистов других естественнонаучных областей. Это подтверждается позициями российских вузов в международных рейтингах (см. раздел «Российские университеты в мировых рейтингах»).

Большой выбор университетов и образовательных программ

Иностранных абитуриентов в России ждут:

  • 896 университетов в 85 регионах страны – от Калининграда до Владивостока;

  • 205 направлений подготовки – от математических и естественных наук до актерского искусства;

  • 657 специальностей по программам бакалавриата, магистратуры, специалитета, аспирантуры (ординатуры, адъюнктуры), ассистентуры-стажировки.

Изображение №3 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ТПУ

Российские вузы также предлагают довузовские подготовительные программы (подготовка в бакалавриат, специалитет и магистратуру), краткие программы (летний университет, семестр в России, летние школы), программы изучения русского языка как иностранного, программы профессиональной переподготовки и повышения квалификации.

Оптимальное соотношение цены и качества образования

Обучение на контрактной основе в российских вузах гораздо дешевле, чем в университетах США, Канады и Великобритании, а по уровню подготовки ведущие вузы России составляют достойную конкуренцию западным образовательным организациям.

В 2014 году стоимость обучения в российских вузах на очных программах бакалавриата начиналась от 63 тысяч рублей в год (1,1 тысячи долларов) в зависимости от специальности (согласно нормативу, установленному Минобрнауки России). Максимальный же показатель стоимости в самых престижных столичных вузах страны доходил до 344 тысяч рублей в год (6,1 тысячи долларов) данные рейтингового агентства «Эксперт»1.

Изображение №4 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ТПУ

Если выбирать вузы, расположенные не в Москве или Санкт-Петербурге, обучение и проживание будут стоить дешевле – уровень цен в регионах заметно ниже, чем в столице. (Подробную информации о стоимости обучения можно найти на сайтах университетов).

Возможность обучения на бюджетной основе

Изображение №5 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© РУДН

Россия – одна из немногих стран, предоставляющих иностранцам возможность бесплатного обучения. Ежегодно российское правительство выделяет несколько тысяч бюджетных мест в российских вузах для иностранных граждан (в 2015 году было выделено 15 000 мест). Кроме того, некоторые категории иностранцев, в том числе соотечественники, могут поступать на бюджетные места вне квот наравне с россиянами. Еще одна возможность – принять участие в университетских олимпиадах, победителям и призерам которых предоставляются льготы при поступлении в ведущие российские вузы (по квотам и на бюджетные места).

Возможность изучения русского языка

Изображение №6 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ННГУ

На русском языке говорят около 260 миллионов жителей планеты, постоянно изучают русский около 10,5 миллионов иностранцев. Российские вузы предлагают разные программы по изучению русского языка – курсы, летние школы, обучение в дистанционном режиме. Для иностранцев в рамках подготовительного отделения предусмотрен годичный курс обучения русскому языку, для студентов, поступивших по квотам (госстипендиям), он бесплатен.

Возможность обучения на английском языке

Не успели выучить русский язык? Не страшно! Все больше российских вузов предлагают программы на английском языке.

Изображение №7 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© НИЯУ МИФИ

Возможность получить двойные дипломы

Изображение №8 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ВШЭ

В 2003 году Россия подписала Болонскую декларацию, приняв на себя ряд обязательств в рамках создания общего образовательного пространства стран-участниц. Дипломы российских вузов признают в большинстве государств мира. Облегчают эту процедуру межправительственные соглашения России более чем с 60 странами, в том числе с Финляндией, Испанией, Кубой, Индией, Вьетнамом, Китаем, Венесуэлой, Намибией, а в июне 2015 года такой документ был подписан с Францией. Кроме того, многие российские вузы реализуют совместные программы с зарубежными университетами, выдавая выпускникам двойные дипломы. То есть, учась в России, можно получить и российский диплом, и, к примеру, диплом европейского вуза.

Удобные и оснащенные кампусы и общежития

Изображение №9 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ДВФУ

Российские вузы по степени оснащенности учебных комплексов давно не уступают многим западным университетам. Высокий уровень технической оснащенности лабораторий, научных центров и учебных корпусов – это реалии сегодняшней студенческой жизни. У большинства российских вузов есть собственные общежития, стоимость проживания в которых достаточно низкая (см. раздел «Жилье»).

Легкая адаптация для иностранцев

Изображение №10 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© СФУ

Россия – многонациональная страна, здесь легко смогут адаптироваться представители самых разных стран и культур. На территории России проживают более 200 народов, говорящие более чем на 100 языках и диалектах. Российская конституция гарантирует свободу вероисповедания: в стране мирно сосуществуют христиане, мусульмане, буддисты, иудеи и представители других религий. Мультинациональный этнический состав страны определяет многообразие всех сфер жизни от культурного до бытового. Неудивительно, что многие приезжающие в Россию иностранцы чувствуют себя, как дома. Российские вузы гордятся многолетним опытом обучения и адаптации иностранцев: действуют программы кураторства первокурсников, развит институт студенческих землячеств.

Разные климатические зоны

Изображение №11 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© СФУ

Россия – огромная страна, здесь можно выбрать не только программу или университет, но даже комфортный для себя климатический пояс – от умеренно-континентального климата в европейской части страны до субтропического на Черноморском побережье Кавказа и юге Крыма. (см. раздел «Климат»).

Россия – страна с великой культурой

Изображение №12 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев © ННГУ

Культура – это то, с чем чаще всего ассоциируют Россию иностранцы, и чем гордится большинство россиян. Россия дала миру великих писателей, поэтов, философов, композиторов, художников и музыкантов – Лев Толстой, Антон Чехов, Федор Достоевский, Николай Рерих, Сергей Рахманинов, Борис Пастернак, Петр Чайковский, Сергей Эйзенштейн, Мстислав Ростропович... Литература, балет, классическая музыка, архитектура, живопись, театр, кинематограф – это то, чем Россия завоевывает сердца людей по всему миру. Современные российские города – центры культурной жизни, где постоянно проходят выставки, фестивали, концерты, показы, перформансы и другие культурные и развлекательные мероприятия международного и национального уровней.

Возможность заниматься спортом

Изображение №13 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев © ТПУ

Россияне – спортивная нация, давшая миру великих спортсменов: Ирина Роднина, Вячеслав Третьяк, Мария Шарапова, Евгений Плющенко, Александр Овечкин, Елена Исинбаева, Александр Поветкин… Спортом в России занимаются более 60% жителей и 71% студентов. Спортивные объекты – 70 000 спортивных залов, 140 000 спортплощадок, 4 800 бассейнов – доступны всем желающим.

Российские университеты, как правило, имеют собственную спортивную инфраструктуру и готовы предложить своим учащимся отличные возможности для занятий спортом. При вузах создаются спортивные команды, побеждающие на престижных соревнованиях, в том числе Универсиадах.

Страна не раз становилась хозяйкой спортивных турниров мирового уровня – в 2014 году провела зимние Олимпийские игры в Сочи, гонки Формулы-1. В планах Чемпионат мира по футболу (2018) и зимняя Универсиада (2019).

Льготы для студентов

Изображение №14 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© КФУ

Студентам в России предоставляются льготы (см. раздел «Льготы для студентов»), в том числе на проезд в общественном транспорте, скидки на посещение музеев, библиотек, театров, концертов, парков и других общественных и развлекательных мест.

Увлекательная студенческая жизнь

Изображение №15 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ТюмГУ

Студентам всегда есть чем заняться после учебы. Они участвуют в спортивных соревнованиях, конкурсах, студенческих праздниках, фестивалях. В вузах есть собственные студенческие театры, спортивные команды, волонтерские объединения и студенческие строительные отряды. Особый творческий вид активности российских студентов, которого нет ни в одной стране мира, – юмористические игры КВН (Клуб веселых и находчивых). Лучшие команды КВН от университетов участвуют в телевизионной передаче центрального российского телеканала.

Путешествия круглый год

Изображение №16 – Преимущества обучения в России для иностранцев© ТюмГУ

Большой театр, Третьяковская галерея, Пушкинский музей, Эрмитаж, Исаакиевский собор – известные на весь мир российские культурные достопримечательности, ежегодно привлекающие миллионы туристов. Однако это лишь малая часть того, где стоит побывать. В список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО включены 26 объектов российской культуры. Помимо Кремля с Красной площадью, туда вошли памятники Новгорода, Суздаля, Владимира, Троице-Сергиева Лавра, озеро Байкал, вулканы Камчатки, Золотые горы Алтая, Новодевичий монастырь, Куршская коса и другие. Многие вузы организуют экскурсионные поездки для студентов. Выбор практически неограничен – от Золотого кольца, охватывающего восемь древнерусских городов, до путешествия по легендарному маршруту Транссиба.

Поделиться в соцсетях

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X