National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)

MEPhI

City: Moscow add to favorites
Member

View on map

Year of foundation: 1942

Total students: 7 500 / International students: 877

Faculties: 12 / Departments: 76

Faculty: 1 503

Professors512 Associate Professors649 Doctors of Science461 Candidates of Science759 International faculty members223
Professors512
Associate Professors649
Doctors of Science461
Candidates of Science759
International faculty members223

Main educational programmes for prospective international students: 166

Bachelor's programme57 Master's programme65 Specialist programme24 Training of highest qualification personnel20
Bachelor's programme57
Master's programme65
Specialist programme24
Training of highest qualification personnel20

Additional educational programmes for prospective international students: 21

Pre-university training programmes 1 Russian as a foreign language 1 Short term courses 19
Pre-university training programmes1
Russian as a foreign language1
Short term courses19

The history of the National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute) began with the foundation in 1942 of the Moscow Mechanical Institute of Ammunition. The leading Russian nuclear university MEPhI was later established there and top Soviet scientists, including the head of the Soviet atomic project Igor Kurchatov, played a part in its development and formation. Six Nobel Prize winners have worked at MEPhI over the course of its history – Nikolay Basov, Andrei Sakharov, Nikolay Semenov, Igor Tamm, Ilya Frank and Pavel Cherenkov.

Today, MEPhI is one of the leading research universities of Russia, training engineers and scientists in more than 200 fields. The most promising areas of study include:

  • Nanomaterials and nanotechnologies;
  • Radiation and beam technologies;
  • Medical physics and nuclear medicine;
  • Superconductivity and controlled thermonuclear fusion;
  • Ecology and biophysics;
  • Information security.

In addition, future managers, experts and analysts in the fields of management, engineering economics, nuclear law and international scientific and technological cooperation study at MEPhI.

Programmes at MEPhI:

  • Meet international standards for quality of education.

    Since 2014, the university has been implementing standards of the CDIO Initiative for modernising engineering training in higher education. The standards aim to improve the quality of the next generation of engineering graduates and are also used by leading world universities such as Stanford University, California State University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

  • Are accredited by the FEANI (Federation of National Engineering Associations) and Agency for Accreditation of Engineering Education Programmes (ANO APIO).

    A graduate who studied under an accredited programme and has the necessary professional experience can obtain the rank (international certificate) of Euroengineer.

MEPhI students are guaranteed the following:

  • A credit-based and modular study system (study programme consists of modules and units).
  • A student can devise their own individual trajectory and take some of the modules at a partner university with established joint educational programmes. The ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) is used; upon completion of studies, an appendix to the European diploma indicating the number of credits and grades on the ESTS scale in each subject may be issued to a student.
  • Internships at distinguished academic centres and laboratories around the world.
  • Double degree programmes.
  • International academic mobility programmes.

A unique feature of MEPhI is its combination of teaching, research and innovation. Students are involved in research from the very beginning of their studies, and from third year participation in research projects is mandatory. Final year undergraduates, master's students and postgraduate students conduct research in the university's laboratories, departments and scientific centre.

World-class scientific centres are long-standing foreign partners of the university: European Centre for Nuclear Research (CERN, Switzerland), Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL, USA), Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL, USA), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL, USA), Enrico Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab, USA), the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY, Germany), Institute of Astrophysics of the Max Planck Society (Germany), the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF, Grenoble, France), the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER, France), the Academic Medical Centre (the Netherlands), the High Energy Accelerator Research Organisation (KEK, Japan), the National Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN, Italy) and others.

MEPhI participates successfully in major scientific collaborations: ALAS ALICE on the large hadron collider (CERN), STAR and PHENIX (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA), GLUEX (Jefferson Laboratory, USA), FAIR (Germany), BELLE, BELL II and ILC (Japan), NA 61/ SHINE (CERN), and DARKSIDE (Italy). In 2014-2015, it took part in new collaborations with CMS, AMANDA, SHIP and ICECUBE. In addition, MEPhI participates in major scientific collaborations at the DESY synchrotron centre, Russian-Italian collaboration in the PAMELA and ARINA experiments, the Russian-European experiments KORONAS and PHOTON, and the international experimental thermonuclear reactor ITER.

Among Russian organisations, strategic partners of MEPhI in the sphere of high technologies, ensuring world-class research and development, include: Rosatom State Corporation, Joint Institute of Nuclear Research (OIJaI) (Dubna), OJSC TVEL, National Research Centre Kurchatov Institute, OJSC Sukhoi Company TRINITI (Troitsk), P.N. Lebedev Physics Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Nuclear Research of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Nuclear Safety Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences Joint Institute for High Temperatures of the Russian Academy of Sciences( JIHT), Federal State Unitary Enterprise Russian Federal Nuclear Centre All-Russian Research Institute of Experimental Physics (RFNC ARRIEP), IPG IRE-Polus, Ministry of Industry and Trade of RF, NRC The Kurchatov Institute, Joint Stock Company Radio Engineering Corporation Vega, FSUE RPC Istok, Federal Financial Monitoring Service, CJSC Moscow Centre of Spark Technologies (MCST), LLC Accord-TSHM and others.


Share

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Национальный исследовательский ядерный университет «МИФИ»

Участник

Посмотреть на карте

Год основания: 1942

Всего студентов: 7 500 / Иностранных студентов: 877

Факультетов: 12 / Кафедр: 76

Преподавателей: 1 503

Профессора512 Доценты649 Доктора наук461 Кандидаты наук759 Иностранные преподаватели223
Профессора512
Доценты649
Доктора наук461
Кандидаты наук759
Иностранные преподаватели223

Основные образовательные программы для иностранцев: 159

Бакалавриат53 Магистратура67 Специалитет22 Подготовка кадров высшей квалификации17
Бакалавриат53
Магистратура67
Специалитет22
Подготовка кадров высшей квалификации17

Дополнительные образовательные программы для иностранцев: 13

Программы довузовской подготовки 1 Изучение русского языка как иностранного 1 Короткие программы 11
Программы довузовской подготовки1
Изучение русского языка как иностранного1
Короткие программы11

История НИЯУ МИФИ началась с основания в 1942 году Московского механического института боеприпасов. Впоследствии на его базе сформировался ведущий российский ядерный университет МИФИ, в развитии и становлении которого принимали участие выдающиеся советские ученые, в том числе руководитель атомного проекта СССР академик Игорь Курчатов. В МИФИ в разные годы работали шесть Нобелевских лауреатов – Н. Басов, А. Сахаров, Н. Семенов, И. Тамм, И. Франк, П. Черенков. 

Сегодня НИЯУ МИФИ – один из ведущих исследовательских университетов России, который обучает инженеров и ученых более чем по 100 направлениям. Среди наиболее перспективных:

  • ядерные физика и технологии;
  • наноматериалы и нанотехнологии; 
  • радиационные и пучковые технологии; 
  • медицинская физика и ядерная медицина; 
  • сверхпроводимость и управляемый термоядерный синтез; 
  • экология и биофизика; 
  • информационная безопасность. 

Кроме того, в НИЯУ МИФИ учатся будущие управленцы, эксперты, аналитики в сфере менеджмента, инженерной экономики, атомного права, международного научно-технологического сотрудничества и др. 

Программы НИЯУ МИФИ:

  • соответствуют международным стандартам качества обучения;

    С 2014 года университет внедряет стандарты Всемирной инициативы CDIO по модернизации инженерного образования в высшей школе. Они направлены на совершенствование подготовки высококвалифицированных инженеров. Эти стандарты применяют такие ведущие университеты, как Стэнфордский университет, Калифорнийский государственный университет, Массачусетский технологический институт и др. 

  • имеют международную аккредитацию FEANI (Federation of National Engineering Associations) и Агентства по аккредитации программ инженерного образования (АНО АПИО).

    Выпускник, обучавшийся по аккредитованной программе и обладающий необходимым профессиональным опытом, имеет возможность получить звание (международный сертификат) «Евроинженер».

Студентам НИЯУ МИФИ гарантированы:

  • Кредитно-модульная система обучения (образовательная программа состоит из модулей и подмодулей). 
  • У студента есть возможность составить индивидуальную траекторию, пройти часть модулей в университете-партнере, с которым реализуются совместные образовательные программы. В процессе обучения используется система оценок ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System), по окончании обучения студент может получить приложение к диплому европейского образца с указанием по каждой дисциплине «кредитов» (объема) и оценки по шкале ESTS. 
  • Стажировки в известных научных центрах и лабораториях мира.
  • Программы «двойных дипломов».
  • Программы международной академической мобильности.

Отличительная особенность НИЯУ МИФИ – сочетание образовательной, научной и инновационной деятельности. Студенты с самого начала подключаются к научной работе, с третьего курса – участие в исследовательских проектах обязательно. Старшекурсники, магистры и аспиранты привлекаются к исследованиям лабораторий, кафедр и научных центров вуза.

Традиционными зарубежными партнерами университета являются научные центры мирового уровня: Европейский центр ядерных исследований (CERN, Швейцария), Брукхейвенская национальная лаборатория (BNL, США), Лос-Аламосская национальная лаборатория (LANL , США), Ливерморская национальная лаборатория (LLNL, США), Национальная ускорительная лаборатория им. Энрико Ферми (Fermilab, США), Немецкий Электронный Синхротрон (DESY, Германия), Институт астрофизики общества Макса Планка (Германия), Европейский центр синхротронного излучения (ESRF, Гренобль, Франция), Международный экспериментальный термоядерный реактор (ITER, Франция), Академический медицинский центр (Голландия), Организация по изучению высокоэнергетических ускорителей (KEK, Япония), Национальный институт ядерной физики (INFN, Италия) и др.

НИЯУ МИФИ успешно участвует в мега-сайенс коллаборациях: ATLAS, ALICE на большом адронном коллайдере (ЦЕРН), STAR и PHENIX (Брукхевинская национальная лаборатория, США), GLUEX (лаборатория Джефферсона, США), FAIR (Германия), BELLE, BELLE II и ILC (Япония), NA61/SHINE (ЦЕРН), DARKSIDE (Италия). В 2014-2015 гг. вступил в новые коллаборации CMS, AMANDA, SHIP, ICECUBE. Кроме того, НИЯУ МИФИ участвует в мега-сайенс коллаборации в синхротронном центре DESY, российско-итальянской коллаборации в экспериментах PAMELA и ARINA, российско-европейских экспериментах KORONAS и PHOTON; международном экспериментальном термоядерном реакторе ITER.

Среди российских организаций стратегическими партнерами НИЯУ МИФИ в сфере высоких технологий, обеспечивающих мировой уровень научных исследований и разработок, являются: Госкорпорация «Росатом», ОИЯИ (Дубна), ОАО «ТВЭЛ», НИЦ «Курчатовский институт», ОАО «Компания «Сухой» ТРИНИТИ (Троицк), ФИАН, ИЯИ РАН, ИБРАЭ РАН, ИВТАН, ФГУП «РФЯЦ-ВНИИЭФ», ООО НТО «ИРЭ-Полюс», Минпромторг РФ, НИЦ «Курчатовский институт», ОАО «Концерн радиостроения «ВЕГА», ФГУП «НПП «Исток», Росфинмониторинг, ЗАО «МЦСТ», ООО «ОКБ «САПР» и ряд других.


Поделиться в соцсетях

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X