Chelyabinsk

© wikipedia.org

Chelyabinsk is the administrative center of Chelyabinsk Oblast (region) and seventh among Russian cities with a population over a million. It is located in the center of Eurasia, on the eastern slope of the Ural Mountains, 1,879 km away from Moscow.

City of Metallurgists

Russians have many jokes about Chelyabinsk, which imply that its inhabitants are rather rough. This is not surprising, as many people there work in production, since Chelyabinsk is a major industrial center, including metallurgy, machinery manufacturing and metalworking, instrument manufacturing, and chemical, light and food industries. However, the primary product of the city is metal (high-quality alloys and stainless steel), including zinc and various heavy machinery and pipes. Today, the city has about 150 large plants.

City between Siberia and Europe

It is interesting to note that, from the geological point of view, half of Chelyabinsk is located in Siberia, since it stands on sedimentary rocks, while the other half stands on the granite typical for the Urals. The two parts are divided by the Miass River and connected by Leningradsky Bridge, which may be used by residents to travel from Europe to Siberia and back several times a day.

Modern City

Chelyabinsk was founded in 1736 at the site of the Cossack fortress Chelyaba. Chelyabinsk's coat of arms bears a camel to remind that a trade route to India once passed through the city. Today, ancient buildings remain in the center only, and there are cobbled pedestrian streets. The rest of Chelyabinsk has Soviet-era buildings, though there are also modern business and shopping centers, hotels, and high-rises.

Green City

In spite of Chelyabinsk primarily being an industrial city, it has many parks and much landscaping. For example, a real forest is located right in the center of the city and forms part of Gagarin Central Recreation Park. One more popular place in the city is Aloye Pole (Scarlet Field) Park with hundreds of red tulips blossoming in spring.

City of Culture

Residents of Chelyabinsk not only work hard, but also enjoy culture. There are many museums, such as the Geological Museum containing samples of all minerals produced in the Urals. The city has a philharmonic orchestra, a circus, a jazz center, an opera house and a drama theater. Annually, Chelyabinsk hosts various cultural events, such as the Kamerata Chamber Theater Festival and International Organ Festival. In summer, the amateur singer festival gathers performers from all of Russia on the banks of Lake Ilmen in Chelyabinsk Oblast. In autumn, the "Incorrect Cinema" Festival screens art house films.

City of Sports

The city hosts various sports events, such as the 2012 European Judo Championship, when its guests praised the high level of organization. Also, Chelyabinsk has a tradition of conducting a New Years sports training session for youth. During this, high school and university students compete in six street sports.

City Where a Meteorite Fell

In 2013, the world heard the news of the meteorite (more precisely, only fragments of it) falling on Chelyabinsk. The impact was accompanied by a series of explosions which caused broken windows in several houses. This happened on February 15 and attracted much attention to the city. However, what amazed the world most was the reaction of the Chelyabinsk inhabitants – instead of running away in fear, many rushed right toward the meteorite, using their phones to shoot videos of the impact and commenting.

5 Steps to Applying to a Russian University

CONTACTS

© 2015 The Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation Sociocentre

Privacy Policy

If you find a mistake, select it and press Ctrl+Enter

If you find a mistake, contact us

Did you find a mistake?

Protection from automated form filling
X

Челябинск

© wikipedia.org

Челябинск – административный центр Челябинской области, по количеству жителей занимает седьмое место среди российских городов-миллионников. Находится в центре Евразии, на восточном склоне Уральских гор, на расстоянии 1 879 км от Москвы.

Город металлургов

В России есть много шуток про Челябинск, в них обыгрывается тот факт, что жители города отличаются особой суровостью. Это и не удивительно, ведь многие работают на производстве, так как Челябинск – крупный промышленный центр, включающий в себя предприятия металлургии, машиностроения и металлообработки, приборостроения, химической, легкой и пищевой промышленности. Но основная продукция города – металл (высококачественные сплавы, нержавеющая сталь), включая цинк, различная тяжелая техника и трубы. В городе сегодня работает около 150 крупных предприятий. 

Город между Европой и Сибирью

Интересный факт: с геологический точки зрения одна половина Челябинска находится в Сибири, так как эта часть города расположена в зоне осадочных пород, а вторая половина стоит на граните, характерном для Урала. Разграничивает их река Миасс, а соединяет – Ленинградский мост, по нему жители города могу несколько раз в день попадать из Сибири на Урал и обратно.

Современный город

Челябинск был основан в 1736 году на месте казачьей крепости Челяба. На гербе города изображен верблюд – это напоминание о том, что когда-то здесь проходил торговый путь из Индии. Сегодня старинные здания сохранились лишь в центре, здесь есть пешеходные улицы, вымощенные плиткой. В остальном же Челябинск в основном имеет застройку советских времен, но есть также современные деловые и торговые центры, отели и высотные жилые дома.

Зеленый город

Несмотря на то, что Челябинск, в первую очередь, промышленный город, в нем много парков и зелени. Так, например, в центре находится самый настоящий лес – Челябинский городской бор, входящий в состав Центрального парка культуры и отдыха им. Гагарина. Еще одно популярное место, где любят гулять горожане, – сквер «Алое поле», весной здесь зацветают сотни красных тюльпанов.

Культурный город

Жители Челябинска не только активно работают, но и культурно отдыхают. Здесь есть множество музеев, например, геологический, где собраны все полезные ископаемые, добываемые на Урале. Также работает филармония, цирк, джазовый центр, популярностью пользуются Оперный театр и Академический театр драмы. Ежегодно в городе проходят различные мероприятия, например, фестиваль камерных театров «Камерата» и международный фестиваль органной музыки. Летом в Челябинской области, на берегу Ильменского озера, проходит знаменитый фестиваль авторской песни, куда собираются барды со всей России. А осенью традиционно устраивают фестиваль «Неправильного кино», где показывают артхаусные фильмы.

Спортивный город

В городе проходят разнообразные спортивные мероприятия, к примеру, в 2012 году здесь состоялся чемпионат Европы по дзюдо, гости отметили высокий уровень организации мероприятия. Также ежегодно под Новый год в Челябинске есть традиция проводить большую новогоднюю тренировку для молодежи. Все желающие старшеклассники и студенты состязаются в шести видах уличного спорта.

Город, куда упал метеорит

В 2013 году мир облетела новость – в Челябинске упал метеорит, точнее, его осколки, падение сопровождалось серией взрывов, из-за них были выбиты стекла в нескольких домах. Это знаменательное событие случилось 15 февраля и привлекло к городу внимание. Но больше всего мировую общественность удивила невозмутимость жителей Челябинска: многие из них вместо того, чтобы в ужасе бежать от метеорита, устремились ему навстречу, снимая падение на телефон и комментируя происходящее.

5 шагов для поступления в российский вуз

Контактная ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

© 2015 Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации ФГАНУ «Социоцентр»

Соглашение о персональных данных

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте, выделите текст, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и напишите нам.

Если вы нашли ошибку на сайте — напишите нам

Нашли ошибку?

Защита от автоматического заполнения
X